About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Parlement - Parliament
Chamber name
Sénat - Senate (Senate)
Structure & Status of parliament This field is to indicate lower/upper in the back end.
Upper chamber
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1963
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
African Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
President of the Senate
Marcel Niat Njifenji (Male)
Year of birth
Additional information
Elected on 12 June 2013, re-elected on 17 March 2014, 17 March 2015, 15 March 2016, 21 March 2017, 3 March 2018, 4 May 2018, on 14 March 2019 and on 26 March 2020.
See historical data for this field.

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary General
Secretary General
Michel Meva'a M'Eboutou (Male)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
Appointed on 18 June 2013.


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Indirectly elected members Indirectly elected, for example by regional parliaments or an electoral college.
Appointed members Appointed, for example, by the Head of State.
Note on the statutory number of members
Each region is represented in the Senate by 10 Senators, seven of whom are indirectly elected at the regional level and the remaining three are appointed by decree of the President of the Republic. The Senators are elected in each region by an electoral college composed of regional and municipal councillors.
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
26% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
280 See historical data for this field.
Population (in thousands) Source: United Nations, World Population Prospects.
See historical data for this field.
Inhabitants per parliamentarian Calculated by dividing the population by the statutory number of parliamentarians.
97,139 See historical data for this field.


Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at the start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature, except when parliament notifies the IPU of a change in the youngest or oldest member.

Average age of all members
Click for historical data
See historical data for this field.
Youngest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Youngest member
Ahmadou Tidjani (Male)

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
At least one woman should be represented on each list
Electoral quota for youth Quotas to promote the representation of youth in parliament.