About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.


6 years; one-half of the membership is renewed every 3 years
Parliament name
Majlis-E-Shoora (Parliament)
Chamber name
Structure & Status of parliament This field is to indicate lower/upper in the back end.
Upper chamber
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1948 to 1969
from 1974 to 1978
from 1985 to 2000
from 2003
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
Asia-Pacific Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
Chairman of the Senate
Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani (Male)
Year of birth

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary General
Syed Pervaiz Abbas (Male)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
Appointed on 1 June 2020.


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Indirectly elected members Indirectly elected, for example by regional parliaments or an electoral college.
Note on the statutory number of members
Indirectly elected:
- 23 by each of the country's four provincial assemblies;
- 8 by the members of the National Assembly who represent the Federally Administrated Tribal Areas;
- 4 chosen to represent the federal capital, Islamabad, by the members of the National Assembly.
Of the 104 seats, 17 seats are reserved for women, 17 others are reserved for technocrats and ulemas, and four for non-Muslim minorities (one member per province).
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
See historical data for this field. Compare data of this field.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
19.23% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
Population (in thousands) Source: United Nations, World Population Prospects.
See historical data for this field.
Inhabitants per parliamentarian Calculated by dividing the population by the statutory number of parliamentarians.
424,621 See historical data for this field.


Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature.


Youngest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Youngest member
Nawabzada Saif Ullah Magsi (Male)
Oldest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Oldest member
Hamza (Male)
Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Totals per age interval 0 0 10 12 12 33 28 8 1 0
Total <= 45: 22 Total >= 46: 82
Male 0 0 7 9 9 26 26 7 1 0 85
Female 0 0 3 3 3 7 2 1 0 0 19
Percentage of members, by age
Age as last election or renewalOverallMaleFemale
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger0%0%0%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger9.62%6.73%2.88%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger21.15%15.38%5.77%
Members for whom data is available

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.

Number of reserved seats, by group

17 seats reserved for technocrats including Ulema
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
Electoral quota for youth Quotas to promote the representation of youth in parliament.