United Republic of Tanzania

National Assembly

About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Bunge (National Assembly)
Chamber name
Bunge (National Assembly)
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1984
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
African Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
Speaker of the National Assembly
Job J. Ndugai (Male)
Year of birth
Additional information
Elected on 17 Nov. 2015, re-elected on 10 Nov. 2020.
See historical data for this field.

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary General
Nenelwa J. Mwihambi (Female)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
Appointed on 15 May 2021.


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Directly elected members Directly elected by citizens.
Indirectly elected members Indirectly elected, for example by regional parliaments or an electoral college.
Appointed members Appointed, for example, by the Head of State.
Other members For example, ex-officio members of parliament, such as Cabinet members, members of the royal family, Attorney General, Speaker if appointed from outside parliament.
Note on the statutory number of members
Indirectly elected members: includes 113 women elected by political parties in proportion to their share of the electoral vote; and five members from Zanzibar (two of whom must be women).
Appointed members: appointed by the President (five of whom must be women).
Other: the Attorney General.
The Speaker may be designated from outside Parliament and becomes a member of parliament by virtue of holding the office of Speaker.
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
See historical data for this field. Compare data of this field.
Men The number of male parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
36.86% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
Population (in thousands) Source: United Nations, World Population Prospects.
See historical data for this field.
Inhabitants per parliamentarian Calculated by dividing the population by the statutory number of parliamentarians.
137,099 See historical data for this field.


Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature.


Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Totals per age interval 0 2 33 43 52 108 78 7 0 0
Total <= 45: 78 Total >= 46: 245
Male 0 2 15 27 33 73 53 5 0 0 208
Female 0 0 18 16 19 35 25 2 0 0 115
Percentage of members, by age
Age as last election or renewalOverallMaleFemale
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger0.62%0.62%0%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger10.84%5.26%5.57%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger24.15%13.62%10.53%
Members for whom data is available

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.

Number of reserved seats, by group

5 (from Zanzibar)
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
Women members must not make up less than 30% in the National Assembly. The special seats for women are distributed among the political parties in proportion to the number of seats awarded to them in parliament.
‘Every Political Party which contests Parliamentary elections may propose and submit the Commission names of eligible women candidates for nomination of Members of Parliament for Women Special Seats’ . (Source: https://www.idea.int/data-tools/data/gender-quotas )
Electoral quota for youth Quotas to promote the representation of youth in parliament.