About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.


Parliamentary term: The term of office of Councillors varies from 5 to 6 years according to the province they represent; they are partially renewed after the provincial elections.
Parliament name
Parlament (Parliament)
Chamber name
Bundesrat (Federal Council)
Structure & Status of parliament This field is to indicate lower/upper in the back end.
Upper chamber

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1890
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
Twelve Plus Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
President of the Federal Council
Günter Kovacs (Male)
Year of birth
01.01.2023 to 30.06.2023
See historical data for this field.

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary General (Parlamentsdirektor)
Secretary General
Harald Dossi (Male)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
1 March 2012 -


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Indirectly elected members Indirectly elected, for example by regional parliaments or an electoral college.
Note on the statutory number of members
Note: The President of the Republic determines the total number of members in the Federal Council as well as the allocation of seats to each of the nine federal provinces. The allocation of seats is based on the ratio between each federal province and the one with the largest population.
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
See historical data for this field. Compare data of this field.
Men The number of male parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
40.98% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
Population (in thousands)
Click for historical data
See historical data for this field.


Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at the start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature, except when parliament notifies the IPU of a change in the youngest or oldest member.

Average age of all members Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
See historical data for this field.
Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Totals per age interval 0 3 9 7 10 23 8 1 0 0
Total <= 45: 19 Total >= 46: 42
Male 0 2 5 5 3 14 7 0 0 0 36
Female 0 1 4 2 7 9 1 1 0 0 25
Percentage of members, by age
Age as last election or renewalOverallMaleFemale
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger4.92%3.28%1.64%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger19.67%11.48%8.2%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger31.15%19.67%11.48%
Members for whom data is available

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
Voluntary political party quotas