National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
29.03.2020 to 19.04.2020
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Delayed elections
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.
Number of parties contesting the election: Parliamentary elections are conducted through party or candidate lists in each district. Parties tend to form different electoral alliances in each district.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Ibrahim Bubacar Keita's Rally for Mali (RPM) remained the largest force in the 147-member National Assembly but reduced its share from 66 to 51. The RPM formed an electoral alliance with several parties, of which three won more than 10 seats: The Alliance for Democracy in Mali (ADEMA) – PASJ (led by Mr. Tiémoko Sangaré ), the Republic and Democracy Union (URD , see note 1), and the Movement for Mali (MPM, a coalition led by Mr. Hady Niangadou and Mr. Karim Keita, the President’s son). The 2020 elections were the first to be held after the adoption of the 2015 Law on gender equality (see note 2). The number of women nearly tripled to 41, up from 14 recorded in 2013. On 22 April, President Keita appointed outgoing Minister of Economy and Finance Boubou Cissé as new Prime Minister, replacing Mr. Soumeylou Boubèye Maïga . 
 The parliamentary elections, initially due in 2018 (see note 3), were postponed several times due mainly to insecurity in the northern part of the country . Nearly 800 polling stations (out of some 22,000) could not open due to security concerns. Several jihadist attacks were reported on polling day. The 2020 elections were held amid fear of the COVID-19 crisis. The elections saw a low turnout of 36 per cent, down from 49 per cent in 2013. 
 Note 1:
 URD leader, Mr. Soumaila Cisse, was kidnapped on 25 March while campaigning in the central region of the country. He is one of the only 17 candidates elected in the first round. 
 Note 2:
 Law No. 2015-052 , dated 18 December 2015, stipulates that 30 per cent of the elective and nominative positions are reserved for women. The percentage of women candidates in 2020 reached 30.3 per cent, up from 13.7 per cent in 2013.
 Note 3:
 The parliamentary term, which had been due to end on 31 December 2018, was initially extended to 30 June 2019 by Organic Law No. 2018-067 of 6 December 2018. Subsequently, in accordance with Law No. 2019-23/AN-RM, adopted by the National Assembly on 27 June 2019, the parliamentary term was extended to 2 May 2020.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Presidential system
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Rally for Mali (RPM) 51
Alliance for Democracy in Mali (ADEMA) - PASJ 24
Republic and Democracy Union (URD) 19
Movement for Mali (MPM) 10
Democratic Alliance for Peace (ADP) - Maliba 6
Convergence for Mali’s Development (CODEM) 5
Alliance for Solidarity in Mali (ASMA) 4
"Ama-kéné Alliance" of the Mali on the Move 4
Democracy and Development Union (UDD) 4
Yelema 3
African Solidarity for Democracy and Independence (SADI) 3
Ansongo Hope 2
Party for National Renewal (PARENA) 2
Social Democratic Convention (CDS- Mogotiguiya) 2
Patriotic Movement for Renewal (MPR) 1
Alliances of Patriots for Renewal (APR) 1
Malian Union for the Democratic African Rally (UM RDA) 1
Socialist Party (PS) - Yelen Kura 1
Party for the Restoration of Values of Mali (PRVM) - FASO-KO 1
Union of Democratic Forces for Progress (UFDP) - Samaton 1
Mali kanu Party (PMK) 1
Party for Economic and Social Development (PDES) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Other notes
Note on the number of parties winning seats:
 In addition, two independent lists won seats: "Ama-kéné Alliance" of the Mali on the Move and Ansongo Hope.
National Assembly (06.05.2020)
 BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Moussa Timbiné (Male)
Political party
Rally for Mali (RPM)
Date of election