New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments

Marshall Islands



Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.
Candidates are officially non-partisan and their party affiliation may change after the elections.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The 2015 elections saw half of the members of the government and many senior figures of the ruling Aelon Kein Ad party ("Our Island" - AKA) lose their parliamentary seats. Although candidates are officially non-partisan and their party affiliation may change after the elections, many of them belong either to the AKA or Kien Eo Am ("Your Government" - KEA). The KEA was established in 2011 by former AKA members, supporting the then President Jurelang Zedkai who passed away in October 2015. Following the 2015 elections, the KEA, now led by Mr. Alvin Jacklick, reportedly controlled 23 seats in the 33-member Parliament. The high turnover in 2015 resulted in the election of younger candidates. Mr. Sherwood Tibon (KEA) scored the highest number of votes in the capital Majuro, campaigning as the "voice of youth". A record three women were elected in 2015, up from one in previous legislatures. Prior to the first session, the KEA and newly-elected independent members as well as some former AKA members formed the "Solid 8" coalition. On 4 January 2016, the newly-elected parliament held its first session and elected Mr. Kenneth Kedi (Solid 8) as its new Speaker. A first-time member, Mr. Casten Nemra (AKA), was elected as the country's President by a one-vote margin against the former Speaker Alvin Jacklick (Solid 8). On 25 January, however, parliament adopted a vote of no-confidence against the new President, giving him the shortest term in office in the country's history. On 27 January, Ms. Hilda C. Heine (Solid 8) was elected as the new President, thereby becoming the first woman to assume the post.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Names of parties in government: "Solid 8" coalition, comprising the Kien Eo Am ("Your Government" - KEA), independent members and some former members of the Aelon Kein Ad ("Our Island" - AKA)
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Date of the first session of the new parliament: 4 January 2016, the first Monday in January.
Parliament (04.01.2016, 27.01.2016, 30.01.2016, 02.02.2016)
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Kenneth Kedi (Male)
Date of election