Micronesia (Federated States of)


Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The 2019 elections largely returned the members of the outgoing Congress. As in previous elections, no women were elected, although there were two women candidates. Voters rejected the establishment of a constitutional convention (see note 1). On 11 May, the newly elected Congress re-elected Mr. Wesley W. Simina of Chuuk State (see note 2) as Speaker. It also elected Mr. David W. Panuelo of Pohnpei State – who had defeated President Peter Christian in the general elections in March – as the new President of the country and re-elected Mr. Yosiwo P. George of Kosrae State as the Vice-President. In the by-elections to fill the seats vacated by the new President and the Vice-President, held on 2 July, former President Christian was elected to Congress.

Note 1:
Article 14 of the Constitution requires the Congress to submit, at least every 10 years, a question on whether or not a convention to revise the Constitution should be established. In 2019, Kosae and Pohnpei States voted in favour of the convention while Chuuk and Yap States voted against. The convention was therefore not established.

Note 2:
Micronesia is made up of four states: Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae and Yap. The presidency, vice-presidency and speakership have traditionally been shared between the states. The country's President is elected among the four “at-large” senators (one from each of the the four states) who serve a four-year term, whereas the remaining 10 members of Congress serve a two-year term.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Congress (11.03.2019)
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Wesley W. Simina (Male)
Date of election