Micronesia (Federated States of)


Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Partial renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
At the 2021 mid-term elections, all 10 incumbent members of the 14-member Congress were re-elected. No women were elected, although there was one female candidate. On 11 May, the Congress re-elected Mr. Wesley W. Simina (in post since 2015) as its Speaker. The Congress also held its first virtual inaugural ceremony due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

As there are no political parties in Micronesia, all candidates stand as independents, and campaigning usually focuses on local issues. The 2021 elections followed the Micronesian President’s Summit (see note 1), which was held virtually in February. Micronesian President David W. Panuelo and other Presidents at the Summit jointly agreed to initiate the formal process of withdrawal from the Pacific Islands Forum (see note 2) after expressing disappointment with the appointment process for the Forum’s Secretary General.

Note 1:
Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Palau and Nauru attended the Micronesian President’s Summit.

Note 2: 
The Pacific Islands Forum was established in 1971 as the region’s first political and economic policy organization. It comprises 18 members, including the four countries mentioned in note 1.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
No women were elected in the mid-term elections held in March 2021.
On 12 November 2021, Ms. Perpetua S. Konman won the by-election to fill the seat vacated by her late husband, thereby becoming the first-ever woman to be elected in the history of the FSM Congress.
As at 30 November 2021, there was thus one woman out of 14 members.
Other notes
Note on the expected date of next elections:
All general elections for the Congress are held biennially in each odd-numbered year on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in March.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Wesley W. Simina (Male)
Date of election