National Assembly

This is a bicameral parliament. Switch to theNational Council

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Hage Geingob’s SWAPO Party lost its two-thirds majority in the 104-member National Assembly (see note), winning 63 seats, down from 77 in 2014. The Popular Democratic Movement (PDM, formerly Democratic Turnhalle Alliance), led by Mr. McHenry Venaani, more than tripled its share to 16 seats. In the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, Mr. Geingob was re-elected President. His closest rival, Mr. Panduleni Itula (a SWAPO member who stood as an independent candidate), was supported by two opposition parties: The Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) and the Republican Party of Namibia (RP). The 2019 elections were the first to be held after the economic slowdown which began in 2016. The unemployment rate remains high, in particular among young people. During election campaigning, the major parties focused on land redistribution, housing provision, fighting corruption and reducing the size of government. Two weeks before the polls, a major corruption scandal (related to the allocation of fishing quotas) involving two cabinet ministers dominated the election debate. Note: In addition to 96 directly elected members, eight non-voting members are appointed by the President of the Republic.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of parties winning seats The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of parties which won parliamentary representation by the number of parties contesting the election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
SWAPO Party 63
Popular Democratic Movement (PDM) 16
Landless People's Movement (LPM) 4
All People's Party (APP) 2
Namibian Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF) 2
National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO) 2
Republican Party of Namibia (RP) 2
United Democratic Front (UDF) 2
Christian Democratic Voice Party (CDV) 1
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) 1
SWANU of Namibia (SWANU) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Preliminary results
National Assembly (28.11.2020) Official Announcement of the Final Election Results for the 2019 Presidential and National Assembly Elections by ECN Chairperson, 30 November 2019 BBC
Women Directly Elected