Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
09.07.2016 to 11.07.2016
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
In all, 13 outgoing members were re-elected to the 19-member Parliament, including President Baron Waqa and his justice minister David Adeang. Most of the members of the Government, including the sole woman member, retained their seats, although the Speaker, Ludwig Scotty, did not. On 12 July, Parliament re-elected Mr. Waqa as President by a vote of 16-2.

The 2016 elections followed two years of political turmoil, linked to the suspension of five opposition MPs. In the run-up to elections (March 2016), there was controversy over the Government's proposal to increase the fee for parliamentary candidates from AU$ 100 to AU$ 2,000. This increase was felt to limit participation in the electoral process, as there are no political parties and all candidates run as independents. The Government argued that it needed to raise money to fund the elections. A challenge was lodged with the Supreme Court. The Government subsequently lowered the nomination fee to AU$ 500, which was approved by Parliament on 9 June. Four of the five suspended members sought re-election in 2016 but only one member, Mr. Kieren Keke, was re-elected.

The 2016 elections were monitored by international observers for the first time. Commonwealth observers said: "The process was conducted in a peaceful environment and the voters were able to cast their votes freely without fear or intimidation."

Note on the election dates:
Elections in Aiwo constituency were delayed to 11 July because a candidate filed a legal challenge.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
One woman was elected in the July 2016 elections.
In January 2017, one more woman won a by-election to replace a male member passed away in December 2016, bringing the total number of women in Parliament to a record two (out of 19 members).
Other notes
Timing of election: Upon normal expiry. A general election is held within two months of a dissolution of Parliament.
A parliamentary term is "three years from and including the date of the first sitting".
Since the outgoing Parliament held its first sitting on 11 June 2013, the 2016 elections were held within the constitutional deadline.
Parliament (12.07.2016, 15.07.2016, 01.02.2017)
Electoral Commission (13.12.2016)
Nauru News
Radio New Zealand
Pacific Islands News Association
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Cyril Buraman (Male)
Date of election