Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Partial renewal


Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
The National Assembly comprises 56 indirectly elected members and three appointed members. They normally serve a six-year term, with one third of the membership renewed every two years. However, as part of transitional measures in the 2015 Constitution, for the first National Assembly established in 2018, one third of members was selected to retire after two years (2020), another one third after four years (2022) and the final third after six years (2024). In addition, each of the three appointed members was allocated a year of retirement in line with one of the groups of indirectly elected members (i.e. 2020, 2022 or 2024).

Indirect elections in January 2022 were held to replace the 19 members whose four-year term is due to expire on 4 March 2022. In addition, one (male) appointed member is due to retire in 2022 (his replacement was yet to be appointed as at 27 January 2022).

Out of 19 members indirectly elected in 2022, seven were women. In addition, there are 14 women among the 37 other indirectly elected members whose terms were not expiring in 2022. The National Assembly will thus comprise a total of 21 women among the 56 indirectly elected members when the 19 new members are sworn in on 5 March 2022.

As at 27 January, there were three appointed members: one male and one female member whose terms are not expiring in 2022; and one male member whose term is due to expire in March 2022.

The new legislature will thus comprise at least 22 women among the full 59 members, pending the appointment of one new member.
Other notes
Note on the first Speaker of the new legislature:
Mr. Ganesh Prasad Timilsina, who has been the Chairperson of the National Assembly since March 2018, will continue to serve in the post.
Federal Parliament (27.01.2022, 17.03.2022)
Women Indirectly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Ganesh Prasad Timilsina (Male)
Date of election