National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Daniel Ortega's Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN) took 70 of 90 seats at stake in the 92-member National Assembly (see note 1). The Liberal Constitutionalist Party (PLC), which allied with the FSLN in the outgoing legislature, took 13 seats, up from 2 previously. The 2016 elections followed the dismissal of 28 opposition members (16 titular members and 12 substitutes) from the outgoing National Assembly, and were boycotted by the opposition (see note 2).

President Ortega was re-elected for a third consecutive term (see note 3). His wife, Ms. Rosario Murillo, became Vice President (see note 4). They were sworn in on 10 January 2017. During the election campaign, the FSLN promised to work for peace, stability and the security of Nicaraguan families. A 50-per cent quota for each sex, introduced by the 2012 amendments to the electoral law, was applied for the first time in the 2016 elections. 42 women were elected, up from 37 in 2011.

Note 1:
In addition to the 90 elected members, one seat is reserved for the runner-up in the presidential election and a second seat goes to the immediate past President of the country or his/her deputy. Mr. Maximino Rodríguez (PLC) took the first seat. Since President Ortega was re-elected in 2016, his deputy, Mr. Moisés Omar Halleslevens Acevedo (FSLN), took the second seat.

Note 2:
Prior to the 2016 elections, Mr. Eduardo Montealegre, President of the Liberal Independent Party (PLI), formed the National Coalition for Democracy (CND) to run for the 2016 presidential elections. On 8 June 2016, the Supreme Court of Justice (CSJ) issued a ruling that removed Mr. Montealegre as the PLI's legal representative and replaced him with Mr. Pedro Reyes. On 17 June, the CSJ disqualified all CND candidates, including Mr. Montealegre, from the 2016 elections. Other opposition candidates withdrew in protest, leaving President Ortega as the only candidate from a major party in the presidential race. Mr. Reyes subsequently expelled the 28 PLI MPs (16 titular and 12 substitutes), including Mr. Montealegre, from the party. On 28 July, the Supreme Electoral Council (CSE) terminated their parliamentary mandates. On 15 August, the CND called for a boycott of the presidential and parliamentary elections and subsequently asked the Court of Appeal to invalidate the CSE decision. On 12 September, the CSJ rejected the appeal. PLI members loyal to Mr. Reyes participated in the 2016 elections and took two seats.

Note 3:
In January 2014, the National Assembly approved constitutional amendments that removed the previous two-term limit and allowed for indefinite presidential re-election. The amendments also scrapped the previous rule that the winning candidate needs to receive at least 35% of the vote to be elected president.

Note 4:
Article 147 of the Constitution bars those related to the president either by blood or affinity from being a candidate for president or vice president but lawmakers differ over the definition of the affinity relationship.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Number of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN)
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN) 70
Liberal and Constitutionalist Party (PLC) 13
Nicaraguan Liberal Alliance (ALN) 2
Liberal Independent Party (PLI) 2
YATAMA ("Sons of Mother Earth") 1
Alliance for the Republic (APRE) 1
Conservative Party (PC) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
The "Distribution of seats" above refers to the 90 directly-elected members. The "Distribution of seats according to sex" includes the two non-elected members: the runner-up in the presidential election and the immediate past vice-president; both men.
National Assembly (05.12.2016)
Consejo Supremo Electoral
El Nuevo Diario
USA Today
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Gustavo Eduardo Porras Cortés (Male)
Political party
Sandinista National Liberation Front (FSLN)
Date of election