Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The All Progressives Congress (APC), established in February 2013 by four opposition parties (see note), won the parliamentary and presidential elections, defeating President's Goodluck Jonathan's People's Democratic Party (PDP), which had ruled the country since the end of military rule in 1999. The APC took 212 seats in the House of Representatives and 60 seats in the Senate. Mr. Muhammadu Buhari (APC) - a retired Major General in the Army who ruled Nigeria between 1983 and 1985 - was sworn in as the new President on 29 May.

The 2015 elections were held against the background of the Boko Haram insurgency. On 7 February, one week before the planned polling day, the election commission announced the postponement of the elections by six weeks. It stated that voters' safety could not be guaranteed when the country's security forces were fighting against Boko Haram. It added that the postponement would also allow it to distribute more voters' cards. The major electoral issues included the fight against Boko Haram, tackling corruption and reviving the economy, which had been hit by slumping oil prices.

Note :
The APC comprised the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) and a faction of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA). These parties had separately won a total of 132 seats in the House of Representatives and 33 seats in the Senate in the 2011 elections. In December 2013 37 PDP members in the House of Representatives defected to the APC, followed in January 2014 by 11 PDP senators and in October 2014 by House Speaker Aminu Tambuwal. At the time of the 2015 elections, the APC reportedly held over 180 seats in the House of Representatives, against 160 for the PDP.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

New legislature

First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.