National AssemblySenate

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
No party won an outright majority in the general elections held in 2018. The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party, led by Mr. Imran Khan, became the first political force with 157 seats in the 342-member National Assembly. The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), led by former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, came second with 84 seats. Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) led by Mr. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari came third with 54 seats. On 17 August, the National Assembly approved a coalition government led by Mr. Khan (PTI) which was supported by small parties (see note) and independent members.

The 2018 elections were held under Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi (PML-N) who had succeeded Mr. Nawaz Sharif in 2017. Mr. Sharif had stepped down in July 2017 following the Supreme Court ruling which disqualified him from holding public office over corruption charges. The key electoral issues in 2018 included anti-corruption measures and economic expansion, as well as the country’s relations with the United States. 

The elections were marked by several violent incidents and terrorist attacks. Several parties, including the PPPP and PML-N, criticized censorship of TV channels, newspapers and social media in the lead-up to the election. The PML-N also claimed that the military intervened to ensure the PTI's victory; an allegation that the PTI and the army denied. Several election observers, including those from the European Union, noted that the post election environment was marred by allegations from the majority of political parties of widespread rigging. Incoming Prime Minister Khan promised that his government would investigate the allegation of irregularities. 

They included, among others, Muttahida Quami Movement Pakistan (MQMP), Pakistan Muslim League (PML), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) and the Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP).
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Directly elected Reserved seats (women) Reserved seats (non-Muslims)
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) 157 124 28 5
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) 84 66 16 2
Pakistan People's Party Parliamentarians (PPPP) 54 43 9 2
Independents 4 4 0 0
Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan (MMAP) 16 13 2 1
Pakistan Muslim League (PML) 5 4 1 0
Muttahida Quami Movement Pakistan (MQMP) 7 6 1 0
Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) 3 2 1 0
Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP) 1 1 0 0
Awami National Party (ANP) 1 1 0 0
Balochistan National Party (BNP) 4 3 1 0
Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 5 4 1 0
Jamhoori Wattan Party (JWP) 1 1 0 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Asad Qaiser (Male)
Political party
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)
Date of election