House of RepresentativesSenate

House of Representatives

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Rodrigo Duterte’s Partido Demokratiko Pilipino–Lakas ng Bayan (PDP–Laban) and its allies (see note 1) won the majority of seats in the 304-member House of Representatives (see note 2) in the mid-term elections. President’s Duterte’s eldest son, Paolo, was elected to the House of Representatives and subsequently formed the "Duterte Coalition" in the House. In the half-renewal of the 24-member Senate, the President’s allies took 9 of the 12 seats at stake, holding a total of 20 seats. Newly elected senators include Mr. Christopher Lawrence "Bong" Go (PDP–Laban), the President’s personal aide; Mr. Ronald dela Rosa (PDP–Laban), the former national police chief who enforced the President's war on illegal drugs (which officially caused over 5,000 deaths); and Ms. Imee Marcos, daughter of former President Ferdinand Marcos, who ran on the Nacionalista Party (NP) ticket. Five women were elected in 2019, up from two elected in 2016, making a record seven women in all. 

The major electoral issues included reinstating the death penalty (most recently abolished in 2006), lowering the age for criminal liability below the current 15 years old, and constitutional amendments to introduce a federal form of government.

Note 1:
The PDP–Laban, which took only three House seats in 2016, won 84 in 2019. Its allies since 2016 – including the Nacionalista Party (NP), the Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC) and the National Unity Party (NUP) – took over 100 seats. Many members of the Liberal Party (LP, the largest party in the 2016 elections), including the country’s Vice-President Maria Leonor "Leni" Gerona vda. de Robredo, had joined the PDP–Laban before the 2019 elections.

Note 2:
The statutory number of members of the House of Representatives has increased from 297 to 304: 243 members elected under the first-past-the-post system and 61 members elected under the proportional representation system.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Presidential system
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
House of Representatives (18.06.2019)
Commission on Elections (COMELEC:
BBC Monitoring
The Guardian
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Alan Peter S. Cayetano (Male)
Date of election