New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments



National Assembly

About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)
Chamber name
Assemblée nationale (National Assembly)
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1963-01
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
African Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
President of the National Assembly
Moustapha Niasse (Male)
Year of birth

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary General
Secretary general
Marie Joséphine Diallo (Female)


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Directly elected
Directly elected members Directly elected by citizens.
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
41.82% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
Population (in thousands) Source: United Nations, World Population Prospects.
Inhabitants per parliamentarian Calculated by dividing the population by the statutory number of parliamentarians.
90,770 See historical data for this field.


Youngest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Youngest member
Aminata Diao (Female)
Oldest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Oldest member
Moustapha Niasse (Male)
Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Totals per age interval 0 0 16 15 21 45 36 7 1 0
Total <= 45: 31 Total >= 46: 110
Male 0 0 11 10 8 24 20 6 0 0 79
Female 0 0 5 5 13 21 16 1 1 0 62
Percentage of members, by age
Age as last election or renewalOverallMaleFemale
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger0%0%0%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger11.35%7.8%3.55%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger21.99%14.89%7.09%
Members for whom data is available

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
Quotas de candidats inscrits dans la loi. Les listes de candidats doivent être constituées alternativement d’hommes et de femmes. Comme le Sénégal a un système électoral parallèle, les dispositions sur la parité s’appliquent à la fois aux listes de candidats briguant des mandats électifs à la proportionnelle et aux listes présentées dans des scrutins majoritaires concernant des circonscriptions plurinominales. Par exemple, dans une circonscription plurinominale à cinq sièges, un parti doit présenter au moins deux femmes sur sa liste de cinq candidats.
Electoral quota for youth Quotas to promote the representation of youth in parliament.