New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments




Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The People's Action Party (PAP), led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, has been in power since 1965. The Party won 83 of the 89 seats being contested (see note 1). It took 69.9 per cent of the vote, up from 60.1 per cent in 2011. The main opposition, the Workers' Party (WPS), took the remainder of the seats. Since six opposition members were elected in 2015, three non-constituency members were nominated to parliament (see note 2). The 2015 elections were the first to be held after Mr. Lee Kuan Yew died in March of that year. He was the country's first and long-serving prime minister and the father of the incumbent Prime Minister. The Constitution provides that the elections should by January 2017: they were held shortly after the country's 50th anniversary of independence, on 31 August 2015. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on measures to tackle the rising cost of living and housing problems after an increase in the levels of immigration to the city State. The population has increased from 4.17 million in 2004 to 5.47 million in 2014. Note 1: The number of directly elected seats increased from 87 to 89, in accordance with the Report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee of 21 July 2015. It recommended 13 Single-Member Constituencies (SMCs) and 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) for the 2015 elections, up from the current 12 SMCs and 15 GRCs. Note 2: In accordance with Article 52 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, the number of non-constituency members is calculated by subtracting the total number of opposition members elected to Parliament from nine. The election commission initially declared that one woman and two men from the WPS had been elected as non-constituency members. However, Ms Lee Li Lian, an elected MP of the outgoing legislature, declined to take up her seat. She will remain a non-constituency member until the newly elected Parliament, due to be convened in January 2016, declares her seat vacant.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of parties winning seats The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of parties which won parliamentary representation by the number of parties contesting the election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
People's Action Party (PAP)
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Directly elected Non-constituency
People's Action Party (PAP) 83 83 0
Workers' Party (WPS) 9 6 3
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
In the 2015 elections 22 women were elected as follows: - 21 of the 89 directly-elected members; and - 1 non-constituency member*. *The woman non-constituency member subsequently declined to take up her seat. The newly elected Parliament declared her seat vacant on 29 January 2016. She was replaced by a male member on 3 February 2016. The number of women thus decreased to 21. - On 24 March 2016, nine nominated members, including three women, were sworn in. As at 5 April, there were 24 women out of a total of 100 members.
Other notes
Timing of election: Early elections. In accordance with Article 65 (4) of the Constitution, Parliament’s term last for five years from the date of its first sitting (held on 10 October 2011 for the outgoing legislature). Article 66 stipulates “There shall be a general election at such time, within three months after every dissolution of Parliament”. For the outgoing legislature, those three months fall between October 2016 and January 2017.
Parlement (29.09.2015, 03.02.2016, 23.02.2016, 05.04.2016, 13.05.2016, 08.08.2017) Elections Department, Prime Minister's Office (30.10.2015) Channel News Asia The Guardian
Women Directly Elected
Women Other

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.