Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
No opposition candidates were elected in 2019 (see note). As in previous elections, most of the candidates were elected as non-partisan. Only 21 of the 110-member House of Representatives belong to political parties. 44 women were elected in 2019, up from 38 recorded in 2016. On 6 December, the newly elected House of Representatives re-elected Mr. Vladimir Andreichenko as its Speaker, while the Council of the Republic (the upper house, indirectly elected on 7 November) elected Ms. Natalya Kochanova as its new Chairperson. She thereby became the first woman in Belarus to assume the post.

The parliamentary elections were held one year ahead of schedule to avoid having both presidential and parliamentary elections in 2020, although the law does not prevent having both elections at the same time. On poling day, President Aleksandr Lukashenko, in power since 1994, stated that he would seek a new term in 2020, describing the 2019 elections as “a rehearsal for the main elections” in 2020.

The outgoing legislature comprised two opposition members elected in 2016 for the first time since 2000. On 17 October 2019, the election commission rejected the registration of candidacy of these two members, citing irregularities with the requisite signature collection.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Communist Party of Belarus 11
Republican Party of Labour and Justice 6
Belarusian Patriotic Party 2
Agrarian Party 1
Liberal Democratic Party of Belarus 1
Non-partisans 89
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
House of Representatives (19.11.2019)
BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Vladimir Andreichenko (Male)
Date of election