Congress of DeputiesSenate

Congress of Deputies

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


The number of candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez’s Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE) became the largest party in both chambers of the Cortes but fell short of the majority, taking 123 seats in the 350-member Congress of Deputies and 121 seats in the 265-member Senate (of whom 208 are directly elected). The People's Party (PP, the largest party in the outgoing legislature now led by Mr. Pablo Casado) saw its share more than halved in both chambers, taking 66 Deputy seats and 56 Senate seats. The Ciudadanos ("Citizens", C's, led by Mr. Albert Rivera) came third in the Congress of Deputies before the Podemos ("We Can") - IU (United Left) – EQUO, led by Mr. Pablo Iglesias. The Republican Left of Catalonia (ERC) - Sovereigntists (Sobiranistes), a pro-independence Catalan party, took a total of 26 seats in the Cortes, thereby becoming the largest Catalan party in the new legislature. A record 166 women were elected to the Congress of Deputies (47.4%), up from 137 (39.1%) elected in 2016.

The early elections in April 2019 were the first to be held under Prime Minister Sánchez (PSOE) who had had succeeded Mr. Mariano Rajoy (PP) in June 2018. The PSOE held only 85 of the 350 seats in the outgoing Congress and needed to rely on other parties to govern. On 15 February 2019, Prime Minister Sánchez called early elections after his government failed to pass the budget law in Parliament. During election campaigning, the major parties focused on immigration, unemployment, corruption and Catalan independence. The April 2019 elections – the third elections in four years – triggered prolonged coalition talks. The talks between PSOE and Podemos did not bear fruit before the deadline of 23 September to form a government, prompting King Felipe VI to call a snap election in November.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE) 123
People's Party (PP) 66
Ciudadanos ("Citizens", C's) 57
Podemos ("We Can") - IU (United Left) - EQUO 35
Vox 24
Republican Left of Catalonia (ERC) - Sovereigntists (Sobiranistes) 15
EN COMÚ PODEMEN (ECP) - Guanyem el Canvi 7
Junts per Catalunya (“Together for Catalonia”, JxCAT) - Junts 7
Basque Nationalist Party (EAJ-PNV) 6
Unite Basque Country (Euskal Herria Bildueh Bildu, EH Bildu) 4
Canarian Coalition - Canarian Nationalist Party (CCa - PNC) 2
Navarra Suma (NA+) 2
Compromís 2019 1
Regionalist Party of Cantabria (PRC) 1
Other notes
The Cortes were dissolved on 24 September 2019 in view of new early elections to be held on 10 November.
Between the dissolution and the convening of the newly elected legislature, the Permanent Deputation, which comprises a reduced number of members of parliament, assumes the legislative powers.
As at 27 September 2019, the Permanent Deputation of the Congress of Deputies comprised 137 members, 56 of whom were women.
Congress of Deputies (09.05.2019, 25.09.2019)
Ministry of Interior (
BBC Monitoring
El País
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Notes Note on the number of first-term parliamentarians
New parliamentarians include those that were not members of the XII Legislature (July 2016- May 2019).
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Meritxell Batet (Female)
Political party
Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE)
Date of election