Assembly of People's Representatives

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


1,572 lists: 687 submitted by parties, 722 by independents and 163 by coalitions.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
As in the previous elections held in 2014, no party won an outright majority in the 217-member Assembly of People's Representatives. Ennahdha, an Islamist movement led by Mr. Rached Ghannouchi, became the largest party, winning 52 seats, 14 more than the Heart of Tunisia, a new party formed in 2019 by Mr. Nabil Karoui. Both parties ran on an anti-establishment platform. Nidaa Tounes (formerly led by the late President Beji Caid Essebsi), the largest party in the 2014 elections and Ennahdh’s coalition partner, saw its share plummet from 86 to a mere 3 seats.

The 2019 elections were the first to be held after the passing of President Beji Caid Essebsi in July 2019 (see note 1). On 23 October, Mr. Kais Saied was sworn in as the new President. On 13 November, the newly elected parliament elected Ennahdha leader Ghannouchi as its new Speaker. Ennahdha subsequently proposed Mr. Habib Jemli as its premiership candidate. However, Parliament rejected his cabinet line-up proposal on 10 January 2020. Ten days later, President Saied tasked Mr. Elyes Fakhfakh (see note 2), a former tourism and finance minister, with forming a new government.

Note 1:
The presidential elections, initially scheduled for 17 November, were held on 15 September. Consequently, the parliamentary elections were held between two rounds of presidential elections held on 15 September and 13 October respectively. In the run-offs, Mr. Kais Saied (a law professor who ran as independent) defeated Mr. Nabil Karoui (Heart of Tunisia). Former Speaker Mohamed Ennaceur, who served as interim president, did not run for the 2019 parliamentary elections.

Note 2:
Mr. Fakhfakh belongs to the Democratic Forum for Labour and Liberties (FDTL, Ettakatol) which was in a coalition government with Ennahdha in 2011. Ettakatol did not win parliamentary representation in 2014 and 2019. Mr. Fakhfakh’s candidacy was proposed by Tahya Tounes ("Long live Tunisia", which took 14 seats in 2019) and was supported by the Democratic Current, which took 22 seats in the 2019 elections.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Ennahdha 52
Heart of Tunisia 38
Democratic Current 22
Al-Karama Coalition ("Dignity") 21
Free Destourian Party 17
Echaâb Movement (People's Movement) 15
Tahya Tounes ("Long live Tunisia") 14
Machrou Tounes Movement 4
Errahma 4
Nidaa Tounes 3
Republican People's Union 3
Al-Badil Ettounsi Party 3
Afek Tounes 2
Democratic and Social Union 1
Popular Front 1
Independents 17
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Assembly of People's Representatives (11.11.2019, 14.11.2019)
BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Rached Ghannouchi (Male)
Political party
Date of election