Parliament of Tuvalu

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Prime Minister Enele Sopoaga's supporters won 11 seats in the 15 member Parliament. The elections involved only independent candidates, as there are no political parties in Tuvalu. 12 outgoing members were returned, including two candidates who were re-elected unopposed (Mr. Sopoaga and Natural Resources Minister Elisala Pita). Two first-time members and one former MP won the remaining seats. Ms. Puakena Boreham became the third woman ever to enter Parliament. Mr. Sopoaga's new Cabinet was sworn in on 10 April, with former Prime Minister Maatia Toafa as his Deputy.

The 2015 elections were initially called for 19 March (see note) but were postponed due to Cyclone Pam which affected outer islands in Tuvalu. During the election campaign, Prime Minister Sopoaga promised to revise the Constitution, to address chronic political instability in the country. Since the previous elections held in September 2010, the country has had three Prime Ministers and three Speakers. Prime Minister Mr. Maatia Toafa lost a motion of no-confidence on 15 December 2010 after only three months in office and was succeeded by Mr. Willy Telavi. In August 2013, the new government led by Mr. Sopoaga took office. In March 2014, he moved a motion to remove Speaker Kamuta Latasi, who was succeeded as President by Mr. Otinielu Tauteleimalae Tausi.

Note on the timing of elections:
Article 118 (1) of the Constitution stipulates that "Parliament is automatically dissolved at the end of the period of four years after the date of its first sitting after a general election". Following a civil case, asking the court to confirm that (1) the session held on 30 September 2010 was the first parliamentary session after the 2010 elections; and (2) parliament would automatically be dissolved on 30 September 2014, on 17 July 2014, the High Court ruled that the meeting on 30 September 2010 was not a sitting of Parliament.
In light of the ruling, the outgoing legislature is considered to have started on 19 December 2010 and ended on 19 December 2014. Since article 88 (1) of the Constitution states "There shall be a general election as soon as practicable after every dissolution of Parliament", without indicating the period during which general elections need to be held, the 2015 elections are considered to have been held upon normal expiry.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Date of the first session of the new parliament: 10 April 2015. Although the legislature elected in March 2015 convened for the first time on 10 April 2015, in accordance with the High Court ruling of July 2014, the four-year term of Parliament starts on 17 June 2015, when the first parliamentary session is due to start.
Parliament (13.04.2015)
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Otinielu Tauteleimalae Tausi (Male)
Date of election