New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments




About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Chamber name
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1981-01 to 1985-01
from 1991-01
IPU Geopolitical Group/s IPU Geopolitical Groups: African Group, Arab Group, Asia-Pacific Group, Eurasia Group, Group of Latin America and the Caribbean (GRULAC), Twelve Plus Group.
African Group


Official title The Speaker may for example be known as the Presiding Officer, President, Chairman/Chairperson, etc.
Speaker of Parliament
Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga (Female)
Year of birth

Secretary General

Official title This post is most commonly called Secretary General or Clerk. It may also be called Secretary, Head/Chief of the Secretariat, Director General, etc.
Secretary general
Jane Lubowa Kibirige (Female)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
8 Feb. 2012 -


Statutory number of members Statutory number of members, as defined in the constitution or other fundamental law.
Principal mode of designation of members
Directly elected
Directly elected members Directly elected by citizens.
Indirectly elected members Indirectly elected, for example by regional parliaments or an electoral college.
Other members For example, ex-officio members of parliament, such as Cabinet members, members of the royal family, Attorney General, Speaker if appointed from outside parliament.
Note on the statutory number of members
Indirectly elected members include: (a) Five youth representatives; (b) Five representatives of disabled persons; (c) Five workers' representatives; and (d) 10 representatives of the Uganda People's Defence Forces. At least one person from categories (a) to (c), and two from category (d) must be women. Other: In addition to the 447 members, the President of the Republic may appoint as many ex officio members as he/she wishes. The number of ex officio members (ministers who do not have voting rights), and thus the statutory number of members, may vary during the course of the legislature.
Current number of members Number of members who currently hold seats in parliament. May be lower or higher than the statutory number of members.
Men The number of male parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
34.86% See historical data for this field.
Statutory number of members per country As defined in the constitution or other fundamental laws. Combines the number of parliamentarians in both chambers in bicameral parliaments.
Population (in thousands) Source: United Nations, World Population Prospects.
Inhabitants per parliamentarian Calculated by dividing the population by the statutory number of parliamentarians.
86,333 See historical data for this field.


Youngest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Youngest member
Proscovia Oromait (Female)
Oldest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Oldest member
Henry Kajura (Male)
Number of members, by age
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Totals per age interval 0 4 75 69 65 98 42 7 1 0
Total <= 45: 148 Total >= 46: 213
Male 0 2 40 49 37 66 31 6 1 0 232
Female 0 2 35 20 28 32 11 1 0 0 129
Percentage of members, by age
Age as last election or renewalOverallMaleFemale
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger1.11%0.55%0.55%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger21.88%11.63%10.25%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger41%25.21%15.79%
Members for whom data is available

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups Reserved seats are a means to ensure the parliamentary representation of certain groups in society.
Number of reserved seats, by group
Persons with disabilities
5 seats for youth of whom 1 must be a woman; 5 seats for persons with disabilities of whom 1 must be a woman; 10 seats for Uganda Peoples Defence Forces of whom 2 must be women; 5 seats for trade unions of whom 1 must be a woman.
Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
Reserved seats (see previous question), with special ballot in each district for women candidates only.
Electoral quota for youth Quotas to promote the representation of youth in parliament.
Reserved seat. Five reserved seats for youth MPs, law adopted in 1993. The youth MPs are selected by the National Youth Delegates Conference. Recently challenged as unconstitutional.