New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments



National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The Patriotic Front (PF), led by President Edgar Lungu, won the majority of the 156 directly elected seats in the enlarged 167-member National Assembly (see note 1). The United Party for National Development (UPND) of Mr. Hakainde Hichelema doubled its share to 58 seats and became the second largest party. The Movement for Multi-party Democracy (MMD, which held power for 20 years until 2011, see note 2), took only three seats. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, youth unemployment, poverty, education and healthcare. The parliamentary elections were held in parallel with presidential polls. Mr. Lungu was first elected President in January 2015, narrowly defeating Mr. Hichelema, to complete the remaining term of the former president, Michael Sata, who had passed away. In 2016, Mr. Lungu was re-elected in the first round with 50.3% of valid votes, ahead of Mr. Hichelema with 47.6%. On 19 August, Mr. Hichilema filed a court case challenging the presidential election results. He argued the President did not win 50% of the total votes and the voter register was not credible. In parallel with the elections, a referendum on constitutional amendments to enhance the bill of rights was rejected due to low turnout (see note 3). Note 1: In accordance with the 2016 constitutional amendments , the statutory number of members of the National Assembly increased from 158 (150 directly elected and 8 appointed) to 167 (156 directly elected, 8 appointed by the President, plus the Vice-President, the Speaker and the First Deputy Speaker). Although Article 45 (d) provides that the electoral system shall ensure gender equality in the National Assembly, there is no quota system or reserved seats for women. Note 2: The MMD won 55 seats and became the second largest party in 2001. It experienced an internal split prior to the 2015 presidential by-election after two MMD members announced their candidacy: MMD leader Nevers Selwila Mumba and former President Rupiah Banda. Note 3: For the referendum to be validated, it required 50% of eligible voters to cast their vote (about 3,750,000 people), and 50% of votes cast to be in favour of the proposed changes (around 1,875,000 people). However, the referendum received "yes" votes from only 1,853,559 people.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Patriotic Front (PF), Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD)
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Patriotic Front (PF) 80
United Party for National Development (UPND) 58
Independents 14
Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD) 3
Forum for Democracy and Development (FDD) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
As at 28 September 2016, there were a total of 30 women out of 167 members as follows. - 26 women directly elected (out of 156 members) - The Vice President; - 2 appointed members (out of eight members); - The First Deputy Speaker.
Other notes
Timing of election: The January 2016 constitutional amendments (Act No. 2 of 2016) stipulate a general election be held "every five years after the last general election, on the second Thursday of August", instead of "the last Wednesday of September". The 2016 elections were thus held in August, instead of September. Expected date of next elections: 12 August 2021 - The second Thursday of August.
National Assembly (25.08.2016, 26.08.2016, 06.09.2016, 28.09.2016, 09.03.2017) International Foundation for Electoral Systems Electoral Commission of Zambia Lusaka Times Zambia Daily Mail
Women Directly Elected
Women Appointed
Women Other

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Patrick Matibini (Male)
Date of election