New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments



National Assembly

This is a bicameral parliament. Switch to theSenate

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The ruling ZANU-PF retained its majority in both chambers of parliament in the first election after the resignation of long-serving President Robert Mugabe in November 2017 (see note 1). His successor, Mr. Emmerson Mnangagwa (ZANU-PF) narrowly defeated MDC Alliance leader Nelson Chamisa (see note 2) in a presidential poll. The MDC Alliance, which became the second largest force in both chambers of parliament, filed a court case for alleged voting irregularities. On 24 August, the Supreme Court upheld the election results, paving the way for Mr. Mnangagwa to be sworn in. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy. ZANU-PF promised to open up the country for business, promote investment, create jobs and fight corruption. The MDC Alliance promised economic emancipation of the people and the creation of a “socially just, democratic, transformative state”. Note 1: Mr. Mugabe, 93, who had ruled the country as its President since since 1987, resigned shortly after Parliament started an impeachment procedure against him on 21 November 2017. The move followed the President’s dismissal of the then Vice President Mnangagwa. The military subsequently placed Mr. Mugabe under house arrest. ZANU-PF then appointed Mr. Mnangagwa as its interim president at a special committee meeting in which Mr. Mugabe was fired and his wife Grace was expelled from ZANU-PF for life. Note 2: The MDC Alliance, formed in August 2017, comprises the following seven political parties: Movement for Democratic Change – Tsvangirai (MDC-T), Movement for Democratic Change (MDC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Zimbabwe People First, Transform Zimbabwe, Multi-Racial Christian Democracy (MCD) and Zanu Ndonga. Mr. Chamisa succeeded the long-time opposition leader Morgan Tsvangirai who passed away in February 2018.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Majority Women seats
ZANU-PF 180 145 35
MDC-Alliance 87 63 24
Movement for Democratic Change (MDC-T) 1 0 1
National Patriotic Front (NPF) 1 1 0
Independents 1 1 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Parliament (30.08.2018, 12.09.2019) Zimbabwe Electoral Commission DW News
Women Directly Elected
Women Other

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Jacob F. Mudenda (Male)
Political party
Date of election