New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments

Bolivia (Plurinational State of)


Chamber of Senators

This is a bicameral parliament. Switch to theChamber of Deputies

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


The number of candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Evo Morales' Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP ) won a two-thirds majority in both chambers of the Plurinational Legislative Assembly. It took 88 seats in the 130-member Chamber of Deputies and 25 in the 36-member Senate. The Democratic Unity coalition (UD) - comprising the Social Democratic Movement (MDS ) and the National Unity Front (UNF) - took 32 seats in the Chamber and nine in the Senate. Following a law passed in 2010, which requires electoral lists to include an equal number of men and women, the 2014 elections resulted in a record number of women - 69 (up from 29) in the Chamber (53.08%) and 17 (up from 15) in the Senate (47.22%). Mr. Morales, who has been President since 2006, was re-elected for a third term (see note). During the election campaign, the President ran on the government's record, highlighting economic growth and reduced poverty in the country. The MAS-IPSP promised to halve extreme poverty to 9% by 2020. It also promised to call a referendum on reform of the judiciary, though it did not unveil the details. UDC's presidential candidate, Mr. Samuel Doria Medina, proposed to introduce a new subsidy to eradicate extreme poverty. He also promised to restore diplomatic relations with the United States and to withdraw from the Bolivarian Alliance for the Peoples of Our America (ALBA). Note: The Constitution stipulates that the President can serve only two consecutive terms. In April 2013, the Constitutional Court ruled that President would be able to seek re-election in 2014. It stated President Morales' first term did not count since it was shortened due to the 2009 constitutional referendum and subsequent early presidential elections.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP)
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP) 25
National Unity Front (UNF) 9
Christian Democratic Party (PDC) 2
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Plurinational Legislative Assembly (17.11.2014, 19.11.2014, 09.12.2014)
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
José Alberto Gonzales Samaniego (Male)
Political party
Movement for Socialism (MAS-IPSP)
Date of election