Burkina Faso

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The People's Movement for Progress (MPP, see note), led by Mr. Roch Kaboré, came first with 55 seats but did not take an outright majority in the 127-member National Assembly. The Union for Progress and Reform (UPC), led by former Finance Minister Zéphirin Diabré, came second; followed by the Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP), the former ruling party, now led by Mr. Eddie Komboïgo. Eleven other parties won fewer than five seats each. Mr. Kaboré won the presidential elections. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, healthcare, education and agriculture, and promised to fight corruption.

The elections followed a military coup in October 2014 and a foiled coup attempt in September 2015. The 2014 coup was triggered by President Blaise Compaore's attempt to seek a new presidential term. On 30 October, violent street protests prevented the National Assembly from voting on constitutional amendments to lift the two-term presidential term limit. Later the same day, the Army dissolved the government and the National Assembly. In November 2014 the army, political parties and civil society leaders agreed on the formation of a transitional government for a period of one year and the organization of presidential and parliamentary elections by November 2015. Despite numerous political, institutional and logistical challenges throughout 2015, including a coup attempt by an elite army unit, elections were able to take place on schedule.

On 29 December, Mr. Kaboré was sworn in and became the first President since 1966 who did not have an association with a military coup. On 30 December, the newly-elected National Assembly was sworn in, thereby officially ending the transitional period that started in November 2014.

The MPP was formed by Mr. Kaboré and over 75 members of the Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP) in January 2014. The MPP and the UPC (formed by former CDP member, Mr. Diabré, in 2010) opposed the proposed 2014 constitutional amendments. Following the 2014 coup, both parties supported reforming the electoral code so that supporters of former President Compaoré and the CDP would be barred from running in the 2015 elections.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of parties winning seats The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of parties which won parliamentary representation by the number of parties contesting the election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Note on the alternation of power
The former government ousted by the 2014 coup.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
People's Movement for Progress (MPP) 55
Union for Progress and Change (UPC) 33
Congress for Democracy and Progress (CDP) 18
Union for Rebirth / Sankarist Party (UNIR/PS) 5
Alliance for Democracy and Federation - African Democratic Rally (ADF-RDA) 3
New Era for Democracy (NTD) 3
National Rebirth Party (PAREN) 2
New Alliance of Faso (NAFA) 2
Union for a New Burkina (UBN) 1
Movement for Democracy in Africa (M.D.A.) 1
Organisation for Democracy and Work (O.D.T.) 1
Alternative Faso 1
Party for Democracy and Socialism-Builders' Party (PDS/METBA) 1
Rally for Democracy and Socialism (RDS) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Preliminary results.

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 30 October 2014. The date of dissolution of the previous National Assembly by a coup.

Timing of election: Not applicable. The elections to the National Assembly, dissolved in 2014, were due by 2017.
National Assembly (11.12.2015, 01.01.2017)

New legislature

Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Salif Diallo (Male)
Political party
People's Movement for Progress (MPP)
Date of election