National AssemblySenate

National Assembly

Data on women


Basic information > About parliament


Gélase Daniel Ndabirabe (Male)
Year of birth
Additional information
Elected on 7 Aug. 2020.
See historical data for this field.

Secretary general

Secretary General
Jeanne Chantal Harerimana (Female)
Notes Additional information about the Secretary General, in particular regarding their term.
Appointed on 2 Sep. 2020.


Current number of members, by sex
Men The number of male parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
Women The number of female parliamentarians who currently hold seats in parliament.
See historical data for this field.
Percentage of women Calculated by dividing the current number of women by the current number of members.
38.21% See historical data for this field.


Average age of all members Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
See historical data for this field.
Youngest member (years) Age at the time of the last election or renewal.
Youngest member
Lydia Irakoze (Female)

Reserved seats and quotas

Electoral quota for women Quotas to promote the representation of women in parliament.
One in four candidates on electoral lists must be a woman. If the quotas for reserved seats are not met following an election, the Electoral Administration co-opts (adds) the additional seats needed to do so.
Elections > Historical data on women

Women's suffrage

Date of independence For countries that become independent after 1940
Women’s right to vote
Women’s right to vote Year in which women obtained the right to vote
National or local Suffrage: National or Local
Restricted or unrestricted suffrage Suffrage: Restricted or Universal
Notes Suffrage: Additional Notes on right of suffrage
Prior to independence, the Legislative Decree of Rwanda - Urundi (L.D.R.U.) N° 02/269, issued by the Belgian administration of the UN Trust territory on 17 August 1961 granted universal suffrage to women. This right was confirmed at independence.
Women’s right to stand for election
Women's right to stand for election Year in which women obtained the right to stand for election
National or local Stand for Election: National or Local
First woman in parliament
First woman in parliament Year in which first woman entered parliament
First woman speaker
Year of first woman speaker Date at which, for the first time in the country's parliamentary history, a woman became Presiding Officer of Parliament or of one of its Houses.

Specialized body - Women's caucus

Association of Women Parliamentarians of Burundi (AFEPABU)
(January 2006)
Formal or informal
The caucus is open to male MPs
The caucus is cross-party
There are rules governing the functioning of the caucus


Issues dealt with by the caucus
- The Constitution of the Republic of Burundi of 18 March 2005, Revision of the Electoral Code in September 2009. Law of 25 January 2010 on the organization of communal administration. Revision of the Penal Code of 22 April 2009. Workshop to raise awareness about the elimination of violence against women. Capacity building workshop for women parliamentarians in the areas of leadership, communication and advocacy. Consultative seminar on gender-based violence in Burundi. Workshop for the exchange of experiences with respect to gender and governance between women in parliament and the administration. Training for representatives of parliament (women parliamentarians), the government, civil society and the media in advocating and raising awareness about resolution 1325, for the development of strategies and a network for sharing information. Meetings and consultations in three regions of Burundi between women parliamentarians and local elected officials on the rights of women and the problem of gender-based violence.
- Law of 5 January 2011 creating the Independent National Commission on Human Rights (CNDH).
The caucus has a strategic plan or plan of action
The caucus has a communication plan