Central African Republic

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
27.12.2020 to 25.07.2021
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Faustin Archange Touadera’s United Hearts Movement (MCU) became the largest party, taking 61 of the 133 confirmed seats in the 140-member National Assembly (see note). The National Movement of Independents (MOUNI), led by Mr. Thierry Kamach, came distant second, taking nine seats. Only three other parties won more than five seats: the Union for Central African Renewal (URCA) of former Prime Minister Anicet-Georges Dologuélé, who led the Democratic Opposition Coalition-2020 (COD-2020); the Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People (MLPC), led by former Prime Minister Martin Ziguélé; and the Central African Democratic Rally (RDC, led by Mr. Désiré Bilal Zanga-Kolingba, who passed away before the first session). The National Convergence "Kwa Na Kwa" (KNK), led by former President Bozizé, took only three seats. 

In the presidential elections held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, the incumbent President Touadera was re-elected in the first round, defeating, amongst others, Mr. Dologuélé (URCA). On 10 June 2021, Prime Minister Firmin Ngrebada announced his resignation and was succeeded by Mr. Henri Marie Dondra (MCU) the following day. On 23 June, the President appointed a 32-member Cabinet, including six women, upon proposition from the new Prime Minister. In addition to the MCU, members of the RDC joined the new Cabinet.

The 2020-2021 elections were held amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The first round was disrupted by rebels who prevented nearly half the population from going to the polls. The COD-2020 called for the elections to be cancelled, stating that about one third of the electorate were unable to vote and that the elections “were not fair and inclusive and are in no way the expression of the people’s will”.

The 2020-2021 elections were initially due to be held on 27 December 2020 (1st round) and 14 February 2021 (2nd round). The first round of the elections was not held or was cancelled in 69 constituencies due to security reasons. They were held together with the second round of the elections, which were delayed to 14 March 2021. The second round of the March 2021 elections were held on 23 May 2021. However, seven seats remained undecided. Additional elections to these seats were held on 25 July to conclude the long electoral process.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
United Hearts Movement (MCU) 61
National Movement of Independents (MOUNI) 9
Union for Central African Renewal (URCA) 7
Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People (MLPC) 6
Central African Democratic Rally (RDC) 5
African Party for a Radical Transformation and the Integration of States (PATRIE) 3
National Convergence "Kwa Na Kwa" (KNK) 3
Path of Hope (CDE) 2
Renaissance for Sustainable Development (RDD) 2
Movement for Democracy and Development (MDD) 2
Party for Democratic Governance (PGD) 2
Action Party for Development (PAD) 2
Party for Democracy and Solidarity - Kélémba (KPDS) 1
Kodro Ti Mo Kozo Si Movement (MKMKS) 1
Transformation Through Action Initiative (ITA) 1
Alliance for Democracy and Progress (ADP) 1
Democratic Movement for the Renewal and Evolution of Central Africa (MDREC) 1
National Union of Republican Democrats (UNADER) 1
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP) 1
Union for Renaissance and Development (URD) 1
Be Afrika ti é Kwè ("Central Africa for Us All”, BTK) 1
Socialist Party (PS) 1
New Impetus for Central Africa (CANE) 1
Central African Party for Integrated Development (PCDI) 1
Independents 17
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
Out of 22 members elected in the first round held on 27 December 2020, two were women. In all, 90 members, including 10 women, had been elected before the first session of the newly elected National Assembly held on 3 May 2021. 
On 23 May, elections to the 50 remaining seats were held. Forty-three members, including 5 women, were elected. After the formation of the new government in June, the number of women increased to 17 out of 133 members. 
On 25 July, elections to the remaining seven seats were held.
Other notes
There are seven vacant seats.
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Simplice Mathieu Sarandji (Male)
Political party
United Hearts Movement (MCU)
Date of election