Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn's Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) and its allies won all seats in the House of Peoples' Representatives. Two main opposition groups rejected the election results, arguing that their supporters were harassed. Those groups were Medrek ('Forum', founded in 2008 (see note)) and the Semayawi party ('Blue Party', established in 2012). No international observers monitored the elections. The African Union said the elections were "generally peaceful and calm ".

The elections were the first to be held under Prime Minister Desalegn. He succeeded Mr. Meles Zenawi, the long-serving Prime Minister and former President, who died in office in 2012. The EPRDF has been in power since 1991. During the election campaign, the party focused attention on its achievements while in government, citing stability, economic growth and development. The campaigning of opposition parties was reportedly invisible. Medrek used the slogan "I vote for clean hands" while the Semayawi party called for justice and freedom.

In the 2010 elections, the EPRDF and its allies took 545 of the 547 seats. Medrek, also known as the Ethiopian Federal Democratic Unity Forum (FORUM), became the sole voice of opposition represented in the outgoing legislature along with one independent member.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) 501
Somali Peoples Democratic Party (SPDP) 24
Benishengul Gumuz Peoples Democratic party (BGPDP) 9
Afar National Democratic Party (ANDP) 8
Gambella Peoples Unity Democratic Movement (GPUDM) 3
Harrari National League (HNL) 1
Argoba People's Democratic Organization (APDO) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

New legislature

First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.