National AssemblySenate

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
06.10.2018 to 27.10.2018
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Delayed elections
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


The number of candidates is not available from authoritative sources.
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Ali Bongo Ondimba's Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) retained the majority in the 143-member National Assembly (see note). The Democrats (LD), led by former Speaker Guy Nzouba-Ndama, became the largest opposition force in the National Assembly, taking 11 seats. Other opposition forces in the new National Assembly included the Heritage and Modernity Rally (RH&M, led by former minister Barro Chambrier) and the National Union (UN), led by Mr. Zacharie Myboto, former general secretary of the PDG. The RH&M claimed there was massive fraud. Shortly before the second round, the President was hospitalized in Saudi Arabia.

The 2018 elections were the first since the 2016 presidential elections in which Mr. Bongo narrowly defeated the former head of African Union, Mr. Jean Ping. The announcement of the presidential election results triggered violent protests and clashes with riot police.

The mandate of the previous National Assembly (elected in December 2011) was due to expire on 27 February 2017. However, elections were postponed twice and consequently the parliamentary mandate was extended. On 11 January 2018, a joint sitting of the National Assembly and the Senate adopted constitutional amendments that would allow President Ali Bongo to remain in power indefinitely.

On 21 February 2018, the government announced the elections to the National Assembly would be held on 28 April. However, elections were not held on that date due in part to disagreement over the composition of the Gabonese Center of Elections, in charge of organizing the poll. On 30 April, a decision of the Constitutional Court terminated the powers of the current National Assembly. Consequently, the Senate assumed full legislative power until the proclamation of the results of the 2018 elections to the National Assembly.

The statutory number of members of the National Assembly has increased from 120 to 143 in accordance with a decree issued by the Government in January 2018, following the adoption of the constitutional amendments. The statutory number of members of the Senate will be reduced from 102 to 52, as of the next renewal expected in 2020.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Presidential system
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) 95
The Democrats (LD) 9
Restoration of Republican Values (RV) 6
Social Democrats of Gabon (SDG) 5
Heritage and Modernity Rally (RH&M) 4
Social Democrat Party (PSD) 2
National Union (UN) 1
Circle of Liberal Reformers (CLR) 1
New Democracy (DN) 1
Republican Equality Front (FER) 1
Restoration of Republican Values (RV) - Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) 1
Union for Democracy and Social Integration (UDIS) - Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG) 1
Union for the New Republic (UPNR) 1
Independents 6
Other notes
There are nine undecided seats.
National Assembly (16.01.2019)
CNBC Africa
La Libreville
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Faustin Boukoubi (Male)
Political party
Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG)
Date of election