New Parline: the IPU’s Open Data Platform (beta)
Your one-stop-shop for information about national parliaments



House of the People

This is a bicameral parliament. Switch to theCouncil of States

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
11.04.2019 to 19.05.2019
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which led the National Democratic Alliance (NDA, see note 1), won an outright majority in the 545-member House of the People. The BJP itself increased its share of seats from 282 to 303. The BJP’s main rival, the Indian National Congress (INC), which led the United Progressive Alliance (UPA, see note 2), came a distant second with 52 seats. Opposition parties rejected the election results, expressing concerns of vote fraud, an allegation that the government denied. INC leader Rahul Gandhi conceded defeat after losing the seat in the INC’s stronghold of Amethi constituency in Uttar Pradesh, which had sent three other members of his family to parliament. On 30 May, Mr. Modi was sworn in as Prime Minister for a second five-year term. The 2019 elections, involving over 908 million voters (see note 3), followed the tensions between India and Pakistan, triggered by the February suicide attack in disputed Kashmir that killed 40 Indian troops. Pakistan denied any connection to the bombing. India sent warplanes to Pakistan to bomb a militant group’s training camp. During election campaigning, the major parties focused on the economy, promising measures to help farmers. Note 1: The NDA includes the BJP, the Shiv Sena, the Janata Dal (United), the Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJSP) and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), amongst others. The NDA won over 350 seats. Note 2: The UPA includes the INC, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), amongst others. The UPA took about 80 seats. Note 3: The 2019 elections were held in seven phases on 11, 18, 23 and 29 April and 6, 12 and 19 May.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Number of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena (SS), Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJSP), Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), Republican Party of India (RIP (A))
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 303
Indian National Congress (INC) 52
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) 23
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) 22
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) 22
Shiv Sena (SS) 18
Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) 16
Biju Janata Dal (BJD) 12
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 10
Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 9
Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJSP) 6
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 5
Samajwadi Party (SP) 5
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M)) 3
Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) 3
Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (J&KNC) 3
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 3
Apna Dal (Soneylal) 2
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) 2
Communist Party of India (CPI) 2
Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) 2
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) 1
Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) 1
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) 1
AJSU Party (AJSU) 1
Naga Peoples Front (NPF) 1
Mizo National Front (MNF) 1
Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)) 1
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) 1
Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) 1
Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) 1
Kerala Congress (M) (KC(M)) 1
Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) 1
National People's Party (NPP) 1
Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) 1
Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) 1
Independents 4
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
House of the People (13.06.2019, 31.07.2019) BBC BBC Monitoring The Guardian India Today The Wall street Journal
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Om Birla (Male)
Political party
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Date of election