Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
19.06.2020 to 02.11.2020
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Partial renewal


Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Full composition
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 29 86
Indian National Congress (INC) 9 40
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) 4 13
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) 2 9
Biju Janata Dal (BJD) 4 9
Samajwadi Party (SP) 1 8
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) 3 7
Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 2 7
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) 4 6
Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) 2 5
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M)) 1 5
Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 2 5
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 1 4
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 2 4
Shiv Sena (SS) 1 3
Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) 0 3
Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) 0 3
J&K Peoples Democratic Party (J&K PDP) 0 2
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 0 1
Communist Party of India (CPI) 0 1
Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) 0 1
Kerala Congress (M) (KC(M)) 0 1
Republican Party of India (RPI Athawale) 1 1
Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)) 1 1
Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) 0 1
Nagaland People's Front (NPF) 0 1
Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) 0 1
Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) 0 1
Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra (MDM) 0 1
Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) (M) 1 1
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) 1 1
National People's Party (NPP) 1 1
Mizo National Front (MNF) 1 1
Loktantrik Janata Dal (LJD) 1 1
Independents 1 2
Nominated members 1 4
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
- The distribution of seats above refers to the composition of the Council of States as at 22 November 2020. There were four vacant seats.
- The “Total” column refers to the number of seats renewed in 2020 while the “Full composition” column refers to the composition of the Council of States after the 2020 renewal.
- The “Full composition” number for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) includes eight nominated members.
- Indirect elections to renew one third of the 233 elective seats in the Council of States are held every two years on various dates. Seventy-six seats were up for renewal in 2020. The renewal had been due to start on 26 March but was delayed to 19 June due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Sixty-five members had been elected by 5 October 2020, of whom eight were women. In all, there were 25 women among 243 members. The total membership included 11 retiring members and one male member appointed in 2020.
- On 13 October, the election commission set elections for the 11 retiring members for 9 November. On 2 November, the election commission declared that all 11 candidates had been elected unopposed. They include two women. Therefore, a total of 10 women were elected out of the 76 seats renewed in 2020.
- As at 2 December 2020, there were 27 women out of 241 members (with four vacancies which were not up for renewal in 2020).
Council of States (07.10.2020, 02.12.2020, 03.12.2020)
Women Indirectly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
M. Venkaiah Naidu (Male)
Date of election