National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.
Nine parties and two coalitions.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The My Step Alliance is a coalition that includes the party of the acting Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan. The Alliance won a resounding victory, taking 88 seats in the 132 member National Assembly (see note). It promised to tackle corruption and reform the economy. The Prosperous Armenia Party (BHK), led by wealthy businessman Gagik Tsarukyan, came in a distant second. The Bright Armenia Party (LHK), a pro-Western party led by Mr. Edmon Marukyan, also entered parliament. The Republican Party of Armenia (HHK), the outgoing ruling party led by former President and Prime Minister Serzh Sargsyan, failed to win parliamentary representation.

The 2018 elections followed a period of political turmoil. On 2 March 2018, the National Assembly elected former Prime Minister Armen Sarkissian (HHK) as the new President. He succeeds Mr. Sargsyan (HHK). On 17 April, it elected former President Sargsyan as the new Prime Minister. Opposition supporters, led by a former anti-corruption journalist, Mr. Pashinyan, accused Mr Sargsyan of clinging to power. Amid protests, Mr. Sargsyan resigned as Prime Minister on 23 April. On 8 May, the National Assembly elected Mr. Pashinyan as the new Prime Minister while the HHK retained its majority in the National Assembly. On 16 October, Mr. Pashinyan announced his resignation as Prime Minister in order to dissolve parliament and hold early elections. He remained as acting Prime Minister until the early elections in December 2018.

Article 89.1 of the 2015 Constitution stipulates that the National Assembly shall consist of at least 101 members. Article 95.9 of the 2016 electoral law stipulates that, in addition to the 101 members, up to four minority representatives may be elected. The previous legislature, elected in April 2017, comprised 105 members.
In the 2018 elections, the My Step Alliance took 88 seats in the initial allocation of seats. Article 96.2 of the 2016 law requires additional seats be allotted to the National Assembly in case any party wins more than two thirds of seats (67 seats) so as to ensure that one third of the seats will be held by other parties. So that these 88 seats would not be more than two thirds of the total number of seats in the National Assembly, the new legislature now has 132 seats. They include four minority representatives (Yezidis, Russians, Assyrians and Kurds), who all belong to the My Step Alliance. The total number of members for the legislature elected in 2018 will remain at 132 until the end of its term.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Not applicable
Note on the alternation of power
The Prime Minister changed before the 2018 elections.
Number of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
My Step Alliance
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Minority representatives
My Step Alliance 88 4
Prosperous Armenia Party (BHK) 26 0
Bright Armenia Party (LHK) 18 0
National Assembly (18.12.2018, 11.01.2019)
Central Electoral Commission (14.12.2018)
Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL)
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Ararat Mirzoyan (Male)
Political party
My Step Alliance
Date of election