Council of Representatives of Iraq

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of other candidates Number of other candidates


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The first election since the non-binding Kurdish independence referendum (September 2017) and the country’s declaration of victory over Islamic State (December 2017) returned a fragmented parliament. Cleric Moqtada al-Sadr's Saeroun lil-Islah (Marching for Reform) coalition (comprising the Sadrist movement and the Iraqi Communist Party) remained the largest bloc with 54 seats in the 329-member Council of Representatives of Iraq (see note 1). The coalition campaigned on an anti-corruption ticket and opposed foreign interference in Iraq. A lengthy manual recount, completed on 9 August (see note 2), did not change the overall results. The Al-Fatih (Conquest) coalition (see note 3), led by Mr. Hadi al-Amiri, remained the second largest force with 48 seats. Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi’s Al-Nasr (Victory) alliance took 42, while the State of Law coalition, led by former Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, garnered 25 seats, as did the Kurdistan Democratic Party of Mr. Nechervan Barzani. 

After lengthy coalition talks on 2 October, the Council of Representatives elected Mr. Barham Salih of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) as the country’s new President. He appointed Mr. Adil Abd Al-Mahdi (independent, Shia) as the new Prime Minister. His premiership was backed by the major Shia blocks: Mr. Sadr’s Saeroun coalition, former Prime Minister al-Abadi’s Nasr alliance as well as the Al-Fatih Coalition. Anbar Governor Mohammad El-Halbosi, backed by the National Axis alliance (see note 4), became the Speaker.

Note 1:
The statutory number of members has increased from 328 to 329 due to an additional minority seat in Wasit.

Note 2:
The election commission invalidated the results of over 1,000 polling stations. On 6 June, the outgoing Council of Representatives adopted a resolution requesting a vote recount of the May elections. The election commission contested the parliamentary decision. However, the Supreme Court ordered a partial manual recount. On 10 June, a warehouse storing ballot boxes in Baghdad caught fire. The vote recount nevertheless went ahead. On 19 August, the Federal Supreme Court ratified the final results of the recent parliamentary election, paving the way for the newly elected legislature to be convened on 3 September.

Note 3:
The Al-Fatih coalition is allied with the Shia militia group, Popular Mobilisation Forces. The group fought alongside security forces against the so-called Islamic State.

Note 4:
The National Axis alliance includes the Al-Qarar Al-Iraqi coalition (Iraqi Decision) led by Vice President Osama al-Nujaifi and his brother Atheel, Vice President Ayad Allawi’s Al Wataniya, and former Speaker Saleem al-Jabouri.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Saeroun lil-Islah (Marching for Reform) 54
Al-Fatih (Conquest) Coalition 48
Al-Nasr (Victory) Alliance 42
State of Law coalition 25
Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP) 25
Al-Hikma (Wisdom) Coalition 19
Al-Wataniya 20
Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK) 19
Al-Qarar Al-Iraqi Coalition (The Iraqi Decision) 14
Others 49
Independents 14
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
The ‘Others’ include the following 17 parties

- Gorran (Change Movement): 5

- Al-Anbaar Haweeyatuna: 6

- New Generation Motion: 4

- Irada (Will Movement): 3

- Baghdad Coalition: 3

- Kirkuk's Turkman Front: 3

- Nainawa Haweeyatuna: 3

- National Masses Castle Alliance: 3

- Aabiroon (Transients): 2

- Islamic Group of Kurdistan: 2 

- Tamadun (Urbanization): 2

- Babiliyoon (Babylonians): 2

- National Masses Party: 2

- Competencies for Change Alliance: 2

- Bayariq Al-Khayr (Banners of Goodness): 2

- Arabic Coalition in Kirkuk: 3

- Coalition for Democracy and Justice: 2

Council of Representatives (14.08.2018, 21.11.2018, 24.11.2018) 

BBC Monitoring
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Mohammad El-Halbosi (Male)
Political party
National Axial Alliance
Date of election