House of RepresentativesSenate

House of Representatives

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.
Number of parties contesting the election This field may include either the number of parties contesting the election, or the number of coalitions/electoral alliance.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Pro-government candidates retained the majority in the new 130-member House of Representatives (see note). The opposition Islamic Action Front party (the political wing of the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan) participated in the elections for the first time since 2007. It formed the National Coalition for Reform (NCR) with Christian candidates, which took a total of 15 seats. During the election campaign, many candidates focused on unemployment, health care, education and economic development. On 25 September, King Abdullah II re-appointed Mr. Hani al-Mulki as Prime Minister.

The statutory number of members of the House of Representatives decreased from 150 to 130 under the new electoral system, which is based on multi-member constituencies (instead of the previous single-member constituencies). This was a key demand of the Islamic Action Front. As in the previous legislature, 15 seats are reserved for women and another 12 seats are reserved for minorities (9 for Christians and 3 for Chechens and Circassians).
In accordance with article 63 of the Constitution, the statutory number of members of the Senate, which was also renewed in September 2016, decreased from 75 to 65.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total
Al-Wefaq Al-Watani 24
Al-Adalah 24
Watan 21
Al-Demokratiyah 19
Al-Islah 14
Al-Tajdeed 13
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Other notes
Number of parties contesting the election: 226 lists

Number of parties winning seats: At least 73 lists

The distribution of seats above refers to the membership of the six parliamentary groups within the House of Representatives as at 19 June 2017. In addition, there were 15 independent members.
The names and membership of parliamentary groups may change at the beginning of each Ordinary Session, as per the House's bylaws.

The following lists won parliamentary representations in the September 2016 elections.
- Al Islah (Reform): 11
- Al Adalah (Justice): 7
- Al Wafaa (Loyalty): 6
- Watan (Homeland): 6
- Abnaa Karak (Children of Karak): 3
- Al Amal (Labour): 3
- Al Aqsa: 3
- Al Zaytoonah (Olive): 3
- Independents: 3
- Al Asalah: 2
- Al Baraka: 2
- Al Haq: 2
- Al Karamah (Dignity): 2
- Al Ummah (Nation): 2
- Al Watan: 2
- Al Wifaq (Consensus): 2
- Al Wihda Al Wataniya (National Unity): 2
- Aqaba: 2
- Hazm (Resilience): 2
- Houran Al Khair: 2
- Nashama (The brave ones): 2
- Petra: 2
- Raad Al Shamal (Thunder of the north): 2
- Suqoor (Eagles): 2
- Taawon (Cooperation): 2
- Tajdid (Renewal): 2
- Abnaa Balqa (Children of Balqa): 1
- Abnaa Zarqa (Children of Zarqa): 1
- Ahl Al Azm: 1
- Ain Al Watan (The eye of the homeland): 1
- Al Ahd: 1
- Al Ardd (Land): 1
- Al Assad (Lion): 1
- Al Badr: 1
- Al Bayraq: 1
- Al Faqir: 1
- Al Faris (The Knight): 1
- Al Haq Yaalou: 1
- Al Ittihad: 1
- Al Ittihad wal Amal (Unity and labour): 1
- Al Khair: 1
- Al Manar: 1
- Al Mizan (Scales): 1
- Al Mostaqbal Al Mushreq (Bright future): 1
- Al Musharaka wal taghyeer (Engagement and change): 1
- Al Quds Al Shareef: 1
- Al Raya (The banner): 1
- Al Wafaa Lilaghwar (Loyalty to the Jordan Valley): 1
- Al Wafaa Lilwatan (Loyalty to the homeland): 1
- Assad Mutaaheb (Eager lion): 1
- Diftain (The two Banks): 1
- Fajer (Dawn): 1
- Forsan Al Quds (Knights of Jerusalem): 1
- Injaz (Achievement): 1
- Irbid: 1
- Irbid Al Karamah: 1
- Ittihad (Unity):2
- Jabal Ajloun: 1
- Jibal Al Tafileh (Mountains of Tafileh): 1
- Kinanah: 1
- Maan (Together): 1
- Mafraq Liljamee (Mafraq is for all): 1
- Mizan (Scales): 1
- Mostaqbal Amman (The future of Amman): 1
- Mostaqbal Madaba: 1
- Mustaqbal Zarqa (The future of Zarqa): 1
- Nakhla (Palm tree): 1
- Orouba: 1
- Qawl wa fil (Words and deeds): 1
- Shaab (People): 1
- Shams (Sun): 1
- Shobak: 1
- Suqoor Hurra (Free eagles): 1
- Watania Demoqratia (National democratic list): 1
- Yaqeen: 1
- Zaytoonah (Olive): 1
House of Representatives (15.06.2017, 19.06.2017)
Independent Election Commission (27.09.2016, 23.10.2016)
International Foundation for Electoral Systems
The Jordan Times
Al Jazeera
Al Bawaba
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Atef Tarawneh (Male)
Date of election