National AssemblySenate

National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
1,893 candidates for 290 members elected from constituencies; 299 women for 47 women representatives elected from counties
The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
President Uhuru Kenyatta's Jubilee Party and its allies (see note 1) secured the majority in both the 350-member National Assembly and the 68-member Senate. The National Super Alliance (Nasa, see note 2), led by former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, came second. During the election campaign, the Jubilee Party ran on the government record, citing major infrastructure projects and economic growth. Mr. Odinga criticized corruption in state institutions. Both leaders were candidates in the presidential elections, held in parallel with the parliamentary polls.

On 11 August, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) declared Mr. Kenyatta's re-election as President, which sparked two days of protests. Mr. Odinga rejected the election results, and on 1 September, the Supreme Court invalidated the presidential election following a petition by Mr. Odinga. Fresh elections, initially scheduled for 17 October, were postponed to 26 October. On 10 October, Mr. Odinga withdrew from the race, citing the lack of reform to the election process. On 26 October, President Kenyatta won the repeat presidential elections.

Note 1:
The Jubilee Party was formed by 11 parties in September 2016. They included the National Alliance and the United Republican Party (which had formed the Jubilee Coalition for the 2013 elections) as well as other parties which supported Mr. Kenyatta’s candidacy in 2017: the Kenya African National Union (KANU), the Economic Freedom Party (EFP), Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP), the Party of National Unity (PNU) and the Democratic Party (DP). Together they took over 190 seats in the National Assembly and at least 37 seats in the Senate.

Note 2:
The Nasa was formed in January 2017 by five opposition parties: Mr. Odinga's Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), the Amani National Congress (ANC), Chama cha Mashinani, Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya (WDM-K) and the Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-Kenya (FORD-KENYA). The Nasa took at least 127 seats in the National Assembly and 24 seats in the Senate.
Number of parties winning seats The number of parties which won parliamentary representation in the given election.
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of seats won by the largest party by the number of seats at stake in the election.
Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Names of parties in government The government may be formed by one or more political parties
The President nominates to the Cabinet qualified Kenyans who are not parliamentarians. Political party affiliation is not one of the qualifications for such a nomination.
Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political groups winning seats breakdown
Political group Total Constituency County Women Nominated
Jubilee Party (JP) 171 140 25 6
Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) 76 62 11 3
Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya (WDM-K) 23 19 3 1
Amani National Congress (ANC) 14 12 1 1
Independents 14 13 1 0
Forum for the Restoration of Democracy (FORD-KENYA) 12 10 1 1
Kenya African National Union (KANU) 10 8 2 0
Economic Freedom Party (EFP) 5 4 1 0
Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP) 4 3 1 0
Party for Development and Reform (PDR) 4 3 1 0
Chama cha Mashinani (CCM) 2 2 0 0
Kenya National Congress (KNC) 2 2 0 0
Kenya Peoples' Party (KPP) 2 2 0 0
People's Democratic Party (PDP) 2 2 0 0
Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU) 1 1 0 0
MUUNGANO 1 1 0 0
New Democrats (ND) 1 1 0 0
Party of National Unity (PNU) 1 1 0 0
Democratic Party 1 1 0 0
Frontier Alliance Party (FAP) 1 1 0 0
National Agenda Party of Kenya (NAPK) 1 1 0 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
The Distribution of seats according to sex include the Speaker (ex officio member).
Other notes
There is one vacancy seat.
National Assembly (28.08.2017, 26.09.2017, 03.07.2018)
The Kenya Gazette:
- Vol. CXIX-No. 118 NAIROBI, 18th August, 2017
- Vol. CXIX-No. 121 NAIROBI, 22nd August, 2017
Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission
International Foundation for Electoral Systems
The Associated Press
Daily Nation
Africa Check
Al Jazeera

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Justin Muturi (Male)
Political party
Jubilee Party (JP)
Date of election