National Assembly

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature Date at which the previous legislature (elected at the previous elections) was dissolved.
Timing of election Timing of election: Upon normal expiry; Early elections; Delayed elections
Early election
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


Total number of candidates Total number of people who registered as candidates for election. Does not include people who stood as candidates to become "substitute members".
Number of male candidates Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women candidates by the total number of candidates.

There is no party system, or all candidates stood as independents.

Voter turnout

Registration Number of people registered to vote
Votes Number of people who actually voted
Voter turnout The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of people who actually voted by the number of people registered to vote


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
Kuwait held snap elections in September 2022, more than two years earlier than was constitutionally required. Former Speaker Ahmad Al-Saadoun, who had boycotted elections since 2012, stood for election in 2022. Opposition candidates took nearly 60% of the 50 seats at stake. Only 23 elected members of the outgoing legislature retained their seats. For the first time in Kuwaiti parliamentary electoral history, two candidates won seats despite being in jail. The Islamic Constitutional Movement (Hadas, the Muslim Brotherhood group in Kuwait) won five seats. Two women were elected, up from none in 2020.

Since 2021, Crown Prince Sheikh Mishal Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah has been fulfilling most of the duties of the ruling Emir, Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah. On 5 October 2022, the Crown Prince therefore re-appointed the Emir’s son, Ahmad Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah, as the Prime Minister. On 17 October, the Crown Prince swore in the 16 members of the new Cabinet (see note). On 18 October, the newly elected National Assembly held its first session and elected Mr. Ahmad Al-Saadoun as its Speaker. He had previously served in that post in 1985, 1992 and 1996.

Early elections in 2022 followed a standoff between the outgoing legislature (elected in 2020) and the Cabinet. On 2 August, the Crown Prince dissolved Parliament in an attempt to end the political stalemate. On 28 August, he called snap elections for 29 September.

Cabinet ministers who have not been elected as members of the National Assembly are considered ex officio members. They can vote in the legislature, except in votes of confidence.

There is no data on political parties, for example because there is no party system or candidates stood as independents.

Alternation of power after elections The results of the elections caused a change in the government. "Not applicable" to countries using the presidential system when parliamentary and presidential elections are held separately, to countries in political transition or where there is no party system.
Note on the alternation of power
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected The percentage is calculated by dividing the number of women elected in the election and the number of seats at stake at the election.
Note on the Distribution of seats according to sex
The National Assembly includes four women out of 64 members as follows:
- Two directly elected women
- Two women ministers from within the 16-member Cabinet (which includes two male members directly elected to the National Assembly in 2022).
Other notes
Note on the statutory number:
The 16-member Cabinet, formed in October 2022, includes two male elected members and two women ministers. The National Assembly thus comprises 64 members in all: 48 directly elected members and 16 Cabinet members.

On 19 March 2023, the Constitutional Court invalidated the entire process of the snap elections held in September 2022. It also invalidated the dissolution of the previous National Assembly elected in 2020 and reinstated it.
Cabinet members normally sit as ex-officio members in the National Assembly. However, the Cabinet resigned in January 2023. Consequently, as at 23 March 2023, the reinstated National Assembly comprised only 50 members, all directly elected.
The name of the Speaker as well as the statistics on the number of women were updated in March 2023. They are reflected in the monthly ranking of women in national parliaments as of 1 April 2023.
Women Directly Elected
Women Other

New legislature

Total number of men after the election The total number of male parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
Total number of women after the election The total number of female parliamentarians in this parliament/chamber following the election or renewal, regardless of their modes of designation.
First-term parliamentarians The number of members who are assuming their parliamentary mandate for the first time following the election or renewal, regardless of their mode of designation.
Date of the first session The date when the newly elected parliament/chamber was convened for the first time. It may be different from the date when members were sworn in.
First Speaker of the new legislature
First Speaker of the new legislature First name of the Speaker of the new legislature following the election or renewal.
Ahmad Al-Saadoun (Male)
Date of election