Supreme Council

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections


Election date(s) The date when elections started and ended for directly or indirectly elected parliaments/chambers. The date of appointments for appointed parliaments/chambers.
Expected date of next elections The expected date at which the next elections should take place, based on law or practice.
Number of seats at stake Number of seats contested at the elections. Where the parliament/chamber is fully renewed, this number is usually identical to the statutory number of members. Where the parliament/chamber is partially renewed or appointed, the number of seats at stake is usually less than the total number of members.
Scope of elections Scope of elections: Full renewal; Partial renewal.
Full renewal


About the election Short description of the context and results of the election.
The election commission initially announced that four political parties – three of which had close ties to President Sooronbay Jeenbekov – had won seats in the 120 member Supreme Council (see note). All 12 opposition parties jointly declared they would not recognize the results, accusing the pro-presidential parties of vote-buying and voter intimidation. Violent protests followed. On 6 October, protesters stormed government buildings, including the parliament. They demanded a new vote and the resignation of President Jeenbekov. The Central Election Commission invalidated the election results. Prime Minister Kubatbek Boronov and Speaker Dastanbek Dzhumabekov resigned. Mr. Myktybek Abdyldayev was elected Speaker later the same day.

On 10 October, Parliament elected Mr. Sadyr Japarov as the new Prime Minister. On the same day, the new Speaker, Mr. Abdyldayev, resigned. Mr. Kanatbek Isaev succeeded him on 13 October. On 15 October, President Jeenbekov resigned. Although article 68 of the Constitution provides that the Speaker becomes Acting President, Speaker Isaev declined to assume the presidency. On 15 October, Parliament approved the transfer of presidential powers to Prime Minister Japarov.

On 21 October, the Central Election Commission called fresh parliamentary elections for 20 December. However, on 22 October, Parliament adopted a bill that amended the law on the election of the President and members of the Jogorku Kenesh. The bill stipulates parliamentary elections will be set for after the constitutional reform but no later than June 2021.

On 4 November, Speaker Isaev resigned, announcing that he would run in the presidential elections scheduled for 10 January 2021. Mr. Talant Mamytov was elected Speaker later the same day. On 14 November, Prime Minister Japarov also announced his presidential bid. The following day, Speaker Mamytov assumed the duties of Acting President. He also continues to work as the Speaker.

The three pro-presidential parties were the Birimdik party (led by President Jeenbekov’s younger brother, Asylbek Jeenbekov), Mekenim Kyrgyzstan, and the Kyrgyzstan Party. Butun Kyrgyzstan (a nationalist party) narrowly passed the 7-per-cent threshold to win parliamentary representation.
Permanent Mission of the Kyrgyz Republic to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Geneva (30.11.2020)
BBC Monitoring