Bosnia and Herzegovina

House of Representatives

Political system
Parliamentary system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

About parliament

Basic information such as the official name of parliament and details of its structure and leadership. Also includes the current breakdown of MPs by sex and age, and provisions for quotas and reserved seats.

Parliament name
Skupstina (Parliamentary Assembly)
Chamber name
Predstavnicki dom (House of Representatives)
Structure & status of parliament
Lower chamber
Parliamentary term (years)

IPU membership

Affiliation periods
from 1994
IPU Geopolitical Group/s
Twelve Plus Group


Official title
Speaker of the House of Representatives
Denis Zvizdić (Male)
Date of birth: 09 Jun 1964
01 Dec 2022
Additional information

The Collegium of the House of Representatives, elected on 1 December 2022, consists of the Speaker (Mr. Denis Zvizdić), the First Deputy Speaker (Mr. Marinko Čavara) and the Second Deputy Speaker (Mr. Nebojša Radmanović).
During the legislature, the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives rotates every eight months. Mr. Zvizdić (Bosniac) will be succeeded by Mr. Čavara (Croat) and Mr. Radmanović (Serb) as follows.
- Mr. Zvizdić: from 1 December 2022. to 31 July 2023; and from 1 December 2024 to 31 July 2025.
- Mr. Čavara: from 1 August 2023 to 31 March 2024; and from 1 August 2025 to 31 March 2026.
- Mr. Radmanović: from 1 April 2024 to 30 November 2024; and 1 April 2026 until the end of the term of the current House of Representatives.

Official title
Speaker of the House of Representatives
Marinko Čavara (Male)
Date of birth: 02 Feb 1967
01 Dec 2022
Official title
Speaker of the House of Representatives
Nebojša Radmanović (Male)
Date of birth: 01 Oct 1949
06 Dec 2018
Additional information

Elected on 6 Dec. 2018, re-elected on 1 Dec. 2022.

Speaker terms

No information available

Secretary general

Official title
Secretary of the House of Representatives
Secretary General
Marin Vukoja (Male)
No information available


Statutory number of members

Notes: 28 from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, 14 from the Republika Srpska.

Principal mode of designation of members
Directly elected
Directly elected members
Current number of members
Percentage of women
Statutory number of members per country 
Population (in thousands)
Inhabitants per parliamentarian


Data on the age of parliamentarians is collected at the start of the legislature, following the most recent elections. This data is not updated during the legislature, except when parliament notifies the IPU of a change in the youngest or oldest member.

Average age of all members
Youngest member
Sanja Vulić (Female)
Youngest member (years)
Oldest member
Nebojša Radmanović (Male)
Oldest member (years)
Number of members, by age (2022-12)
Breakdown of members by age and gender
18 - 20 21 - 30 31 - 40 41 - 45 46 - 50 51 - 60 61 - 70 71 - 80 81 - 90 91 and over Totals per gender
Male 0 0 3 3 7 11 8 1 0 0 33
Female 0 0 4 0 1 2 1 0 0 0 8
Totals per age interval 0 0 7 3 8 13 9 1 0 0 41
Total <= 45: 10 Total >= 46: 31
Percentage of members, by age
Age at the last election or renewal Overall Male Female
Percentage of MPs 30 years of age or younger
0.0% 0.0% 0.0%
Percentage of MPs 40 years of age or younger
17.1% 7% 9.8%
Percentage of MPs 45 years of age or younger
24.4% 15% 9.8%

Reserved seats and quotas

There are reserved seats in parliament for certain groups
Electoral quota for women


The Electoral Law requires that the lists of candidates, submitted by political parties, coalitions or lists of independents, must include both male and female candidates, with each of those genders being equally represented. A gender is considered to be equally represented if at least 40% of the total number of candidates on a list are of that gender. This provision applies to the list of candidates for both the directly elected seats and for compensatory mandates*.
Each list must include one candidate of the less represented gender among the first two candidates, two among the first five, three among the first eight, and so on.

* Seven of 28 seats elected from the territory of the Federation (article 9.1 (2) of the Electoral Law) and five of 14 seats elected from the territory of the Republika Srpska (article 9.1 (3), idem).


Article 4.19 (3) and 4.24 (2) of the Electoral Law of Bosnia and Herzegovina (Izborni Zakon Bosne i Hercegovine), and article 20 of the Gender Equality Law (Zakon o Ravnopravnosti Spolova u Bosni i Hercegovini).

Youth quota

Links to additional information

Parliamentary website
List of members
Rules of procedure/Standing Orders

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06