Dominican Republic


Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
05 Jul 2020
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
26 Jul 2020
Timing of election
No information available
Expected date of next elections
19 May 2024
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

The Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM), led by Mr. Luis Abinader, won an outright majority in the 32-member Senate and became the largest force in the 190-member Chamber of Deputies. President Danilo Medina’s Dominican Liberation Party (PLD), which endorsed Mr. Gonzalo Castillo as its presidential candidate (see note), came second. The PRM’s electoral ally, the People’s Force (FP, a splinter party of the PLD led by former President Leonel Fernández) took a handful of seats in both chambers. Mr. Abinader (PRM) won the presidential election held in parallel with the parliamentary polls, thereby ending the PLD’s 16-year rule. On 16 August, Mr. Abinader was sworn in as the new President.

The 2020 elections were initially scheduled for 17 May but were postponed to 5 July due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Election campaigning was low profile, without the mass meetings and street caravans that had been common in previous years. The PRM and Mr. Abinader (who tested positive for COVID-19 in June) ran on a platform of increasing the focus on health, anti-corruption and human rights, amongst other issues.


In May 2015, the National Revisory Assembly, composed of senators and deputies, adopted constitutional amendments to allow consecutive re-election to the presidency, as was the case before 2010. The amendments prohibit a President from serving a third term, and the outgoing President Medina had thus been ineligible to stand for a new term.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM) 18
Dominican Liberation Party (PLD) 6
Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC) 5
People’s Force (FP) 1
Dominicans for Change (DXC) 1
Social Democratic Institutional Bloc (BIS) 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the turnout figures:

Turnout figures for the Chamber of Deputies include voting from abroad where nearly 600,000 people were registered.


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
16 Aug 2020

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Eduardo Estrella (Male)
Date of birth: 1953
Political party
Dominicans for Change (DXC)
Date of election
16 Aug 2020

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06