National Assembly

Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
20 Aug 2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Early elections
Expected date of next elections
28 Feb 2025
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

No party secured a majority in the 137-member National Assembly. According to preliminary results, the Citizens’ Revolution (RC) movement, led by ex-president Rafael Correa, came first, taking 51 seats. Movimiento Construye (MC25), led by Mr. Iván González Vascónez, came second with 28 seats. The Acción Democrática Nacional (AND) party, led by presidential candidate Mr. Daniel Noboa, obtained 14 seats. Other parties won fewer than 10 seats each.

No candidate was elected in the first round of the presidential elections (see note 1), which were held in parallel with the parliamentary polls. Ms. Luisa González (RC), a close ally of former President Correa, who promised to revive the latter’s social programmes, and Mr. Noboa (ADN), the son of a prominent businessman, advanced to the run offs. On 15 October, Mr. Noboa won the run-off elections. On 23 November, he was sworn in as the new President, (becoming the youngest person to hold this position in Ecuador). The new President succeeded President Guillermo Lasso of the Creating Opportunities Movement (CREO, see note 2).

The snap elections in 2023 followed the dissolution of the National Assembly in May 2023. For the first time under the 2008 Constitution, President Lasso invoked "muerte cruzada" (mutual death), a clause that allows the President to dissolve the National Assembly and rule by decree until elections are held to renew both the legislative and executive branches. The President used the clause when the National Assembly was about to impeach him (note 3). Parliamentary and presidential elections were constitutionally due by 2025.

The 2023 elections were held amid political turmoil and were overshadowed by violence. On 9 August, Mr. Fernando Villavicencio, the presidential candidate for Movimiento Construye, who had campaigned on an anti-corruption platform, was shot dead. Violence pushed insecurity to the centre of the election campaigning. Other key electoral issues included future oil exploitation and mining –issues of referendums held in parallel with the snap elections.

The Electoral Observation Mission of the Organization of American States (EOM/OAS) noted that despite tensions in the pre-electoral phase, no major incidents had been reported on the polling day in Ecuador. It also noted a low turnout for the first-ever online voting (telematic voting) used for six seats to be elected by Ecuadorians abroad. Only 41.7% of nearly 124,000 registered voters took part. The EOM/OAS added that the low participation may have in part been due to technical issues with the telematic voting system, which may have prevented many people from voting. It recommended that the election commission give serious, in-depth consideration as to whether that voting method really guaranteed the right of Ecuadorians abroad to vote. On 25 August, the election commission announced that voting abroad would be repeated in the three constituencies abroad (for six seats), without specifying the date of the re-run.

Note 1:

To avoid a run-off election, presidential candidates need to obtain 40% of the vote and hold at least a 10% advantage over their nearest rival.

Note 2:

The new President will serve out the remainder of Mr. Lasso’s term which is due to end in 2025. Similarly, the National Assembly elected in 2023 will serve out the remaining term of the outgoing legislature, i.e. until 2025.

Note 3:

On 9 May 2023, the National Assembly voted to proceed with an impeachment motion against President Lasso over alleged corruption cases, which the President denied. The motion was submitted by the opposition members aligned with ex-president Correa. On 17 May, the President dissolved the National Assembly, stating that he had taken the decision because of the severe political crisis.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Citizen Revolution Movement (RC) 51
Movimiento Construye (MC25) 28
National Democratic Action (ADN) 14
Social Christian Party (PSC) 8
Let’s Act 8
Pachakutik 4
Christian Social Party (PSC) / “Madera de Guerrero” Civic Movement (MDG) 4
Of Course It Can Be Done 3
Patriotic Society Party 21 January" (PSP) 1
Total Renewal Movement (RETO) 1
Democratic Center 1
Independent Mobilizing Action Generating Opportunities (AMIGO) 1
Alliance For Renewal 1
NAPO Alliance Without Fear PSP LIST3-PSC LIST 6 1
Alliance For a Country Without Fear 1
Alliance “United We Are More” 1
Alliance “Sucumbios, Land of the Brave” 1
Good People 1
MAS Amazon “We sow” Movement 1
Peninsular “We Believe in Our People” Movement 1
United Political Movement for Pastaza 1
“Join” Provincial Movement 1
“Seed” Movement 1
Continue Making History 1
We Are 18-33 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
17 Nov 2023

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Henry Kronfle (Male)
Date of birth: 12 May 1972
Political party
Social Christian Party (PSC)
Date of election
17 Nov 2023

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06