Political system
Parliamentary system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
17 Sep 2014
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
05 Dec 2006
Timing of election
Delayed elections
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates
Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

The 2014 elections were the first to be held since a military coup in 2006, which was the fourth since the country's independence in 1970. The coup was led by the Commander of the Fijian Military Forces Mr. Voreqe (Frank) Bainimarama, who subsequently became interim Prime Minister. His FijiFirst party won an outright majority in the elections, taking 32 of 50 seats in the new unicameral Parliament. On 22 September, President Epeli Nailatikau swore in Mr. Bainimarama as Prime Minister. The convening of Parliament on 6 October ended an eight-year transitional period.

Two opposition parties entered Parliament: the Social Democratic Liberal Party (Sodelpa, 15 seats) and the National Federation Party (NFP, three). In all, eight women were elected. The Sodelpa and the NFP, along with three other parties that failed to pass the 5-per-cent threshold to win parliamentary representation, contested the election results, claiming voting irregularities. A group of some 90 international observers said the elections were "credible".

During the election campaigning, FijiFirst ran on the interim government's record, citing economic growth and lower personal and corporate and taxes. Sodelpa, led by Ms. Ro Teimumu Kepa, promised to work for peace, stability and economic prosperity, adding that Fiji's progress must be founded on "the rule of law, parliamentary democracy, equity, and social justice for all our people". NFP leader Mr. Biman Prasad presented Vision 2030, promising to reach a standard of living equal to that of New Zealand by 2030.

In 2006, the coup leaders dismissed the government led by Prime Minister Laesenia Qarase. President Ratu Josefa Iloilo dissolved then bicameral Parliament, comprising the 71-member House of Representatives and the 32-member Senate. Parliamentary elections were initially scheduled for March 2009. However, in June 2008 Mr. Bainimarama said they would be postponed, due mainly to delays in reforms to the electoral system. He subsequently announced that the elections would be held in 2014, under a new constitution. In April 2009, the Appeals Court ruled that the dismissal of Mr. Qarase and his cabinet and the dissolution of parliament were "unlawful and in breach of the Constitution" and ordered President Iloilo to appoint a new prime minister. The President instead repealed the 1997 Constitution, dismissed the judges and re-appointed Mr. Bainimarama as interim Prime Minister. The latter announced that new elections would be held under a new constitution. In November 2009, Mr. Nailatikau was sworn in President, succeeding Mr. Iloilo who had retired in July.

In August 2013, the interim government published the final version of the new Constitution, which was signed into law by President Nailatikau the following month. In March 2014, Mr. Bainimarama resigned as head of the military to run in the parliamentary elections in which Fijians over 18 old, instead of 21 previously, were able to vote. The new Parliament will serve a four-year term, instead of five years previously.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
FijiFirst 32
Social Democratic Liberal Party (Soldelpa) 15
National Federation Party (NFP) 3
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

Notes: Eight women were elected in the 2014 elections. One of them, Ms. Jiko Luveni, vacated her parliamentary seat, upon her election as Speaker of Parliament in October. The number of women was thus reduced to seven out of 50 members.

Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

Parliament (04.08.2015)

Fijian Elections Office (30.09.2014)


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
06 Oct 2014

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Jiko Luveni (Female)
Date of birth: 1946
Political party
Date of election
06 Oct 2014

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06