Political system
Transitional system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
06 Oct 2023
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
30 Aug 2023
Timing of election
No information available
Expected date of next elections
31 Aug 2025
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


About the election

On 26 August 2023, elections to the National Assembly were held in parallel with the presidential poll. They were marred by delays and allegations of fraud. On 30 August, the election commission declared that President Bongo had won a third term but did not announce results for the parliamentary elections. Later on the same day, the military, calling themselves the Committee for the Transition and Restoration of Institutions (CTRI) seized power in a coup. It placed President Ali Bongo under house arrest and arrested several members of his family, accusing them of corruption and treason.

The CTRI declared the dissolution of all State institutions and cancelled the results of the August 2023 elections. It also announced General Brice Oligui Nguema, former head of the presidential guard, as the leader of the CTRI. On 4 September, General Nguema was sworn in as the Transitional President.

The Transitional Charter, published in the Official Journal on 4 September, provides for a bicameral transitional parliament: a 70-member Transitional National Assembly and a 50 member Transitional Senate.

The Charter does not specify the minimum age of eligibility for the Transitional National Assembly (previously 18 years old). For the Senate, this minimum was raised from 35 to 50.

Under the Transitional Charter, members of the temporary government and the presiding officers of both chambers of the Transitional Parliament will not be able to stand in the next presidential election. No ineligibility is mentioned for the Transitional President.

The Transitional Charter does not specify the duration of the transition. On 10 September, the Transitional Prime Minister, Mr. Raymond Ndong Sima, said a two-year transition before free elections was a "reasonable objective".

On 11 September, the Transitional President appointed the Bureau of both chambers of the Transitional Parliament, which will be led by:

• Mr. Jean-François Ndongou in the National Assembly;

• Ms. Paulette Missambo in the Senate.

In accordance with the Transitional Charter, amended on 6 October 2023, the statutory number of the Transitional National Assembly increased from 70 to 98 members. The number of senators increased from 50 to 70.

Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Appointed
Other notes on the elections

The Transitional Charter, amended on 6 October 2023, provides for a 70-member Transitional Senate as follows:

- 37 members from political parties

- 27 members from civil society

- 6 members from the defence and security forces


Transitional Charter, published on 4 September 2023 in the Official Journal No. 225 Bis.

Loi n°001/2023 du 6 octobre 2023 portant révision de la Charte de la Transition, published on 6 October 2023 in the Official Journal No. 229 Bis.

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
30 Oct 2023

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Paulette Missambo (Female)
Date of birth: 20 Sep 1949
Date of election
11 Sep 2023

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06