Transitional National Council

Political system
Transitional system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
22 Jan 2022
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
05 Sep 2021
Timing of election
No information available
Expected date of next elections
31 Dec 2025
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


About the election

In March 2020, the Rally of the Guinean People (RPG), led by President Alpha Condé, increased its share of seats in delayed parliamentary elections that were boycotted by the major opposition parties. The latter had also protested against the new Constitution approved by a constitutional referendum held in parallel with the 2020 elections. Under the new Constitution, the President can serve a maximum of two six-year (instead of five-year) terms. The ruling party subsequently said that the new Constitution could reset the counter of the presidential term limit. In October 2020, 82-year-old President Alpha Condé won a controversial third term in office amid violent protests across the country.

On 5 September 2021, special forces led by Col. Mamady Doumbouya, announced they had ousted President Alpha Condé (in office since 2010) and suspended the Constitution. The junta, which called itself the National Rally and Development Committee (CNRD), stated that “poverty and endemic corruption” had driven them to remove the President. The CNRD announced the dissolution of the Government and National Assembly.

Further to national consultations with different socioeconomic and political actors, on 27 September, the CNRD government unveiled a “transitional charter”, stating that it would steer the country back to civilian rule. The charter does not specify the duration of the transitional period. It provides for a transitional parliament and Transitional National Council (CNT) to be appointed by an interim President.

On 1 October, Col. Mamady Doumbouya was sworn in as the interim president. He promised to organize free and transparent elections without specifying when. On 6 October, he named Mr. Mohamed Beavogui, a former civil servant and UN official, as prime minister. The exact whereabouts of the former President remain unclear.

On 6 November, the interim government announced that candidacy for CNT would open from 8 to 22 November. The CNT will comprise 81 representatives – of which at least 30 per cent must be women – as follows:

1. Representatives of political parties: 15

2. Civil society umbrella organizations: 7

3. Trade unions: 5

4. Employers’ organizations: 3

5. Defence and security forces: 9

6. Human rights organizations: 2

7. Organizations of Guineans abroad: 5

8. Women’s organizations: 3

9. Youth organizations: 5

10. Cultural organizations: 2

11. Religious organizations: 2

12. Informal sector and businesses: 2

13. Organizations of farmers:2

14. Regional elders: 2

15. Persons living with a disability: 2

16. Socio-professional organizations: 3

17. Consular chambers: 2

18. Press organizations: 2

19. Resource persons: 8

On 22 January 2022, the Transitional President appointed 81 members, including 24 women, to the CNT.

A separate decree issued on the same day appointed Mr. Dansa Kourouma (President of the Guinean National Council for Civil Society Organisations, CNOSCG), who represents civil society umbrella organizations, as the President of the CNT.

Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Appointed

Transitional National Council (25.01.2022)

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
05 Feb 2022

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Dansa Kourouma (Male)
Date of birth: 09 Feb 1980
Political party
Civil society umbrella organizations
Date of election
22 Jan 2022

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06