Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
20 Nov 2016 to 29 Jan 2017
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
31 Dec 2024
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Partial renewal


Number of parties contesting the election
Total number of candidates
Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates


About the election

The Haitian Tet Kale Party (PHTK), close to former President Michel Martelly, and its allies secured the majority of the 10 seats at stake in the one-third renewal of the Senate. Prior to the 2016 elections, these parties formed a parliamentary group called Parliamentary Alliance for Haiti (APH, see note 1), which now has a majority in both chambers of parliament.

The 2016-2017 elections were held in parallel with the remaining run-offs from the 2015 parliamentary elections and fresh presidential elections (see note 2). Mr. Jovenel Moïse (PHTK, supported by the APH) was elected President and was sworn in on 7 February, thereby ending a year-long presidential transition. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on socio-economic issues, promising job creation, poverty reduction, education for all, access to health and energy reform.

Note 1:

The APH, led by the Questor of the Chamber of Deputies, Mr. Gary Bodeau, initially included PHTK, Kid, Bouclier, KONA, AAA and Consortium. After the election of Mr. Moïse as President, the APH controls over 60 seats in the 119-member Chamber of Deputies and nearly 20 seats in the 30-member Senate.

Note 2:

In 2015, the second round of parliamentary elections was held in parallel with the first round of the presidential elections. The announcement of the first round of presidential results triggered violent protests and the second-round presidential elections, scheduled for 27 December, were subsequently postponed indefinitely. On 5 February 2016, outgoing President Michel Martelly and the presiding officers of both chambers of parliament signed an agreement to end the political crisis. On 14 February, parliament elected Senate President Jocelerme Privert as interim President of the Republic. The second round of presidential elections was initially announced for 17 April. However, the electoral verification commission published a report concluding that the 2015 electoral process had been “marred by serious irregularities” and recommended fresh presidential elections.

On 6 June, the Provisional Electoral Council announced that the first round of the fresh presidential elections, the regular renewal of one-third of the Senate and the remaining run-off elections from the 2015 parliamentary elections would be held on 9 October 2016, with run-off presidential and senatorial elections on 8 January 2017. Following the passage of Hurricane Matthew on 5 October, which killed more than 370 people, the electoral council postponed the elections to 20 November.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Seats 2016 - 2017
Haitian Tet Kale Party (PHTK) 9 4
Truth (Vérité) 3 0
Konvansyon Inite Demokratik (KID) 2 0
Bouclier 2 1
Ayiti an aksyon (AAA) 2 1
Union of Haitian Patriots (RPH) 1 1
Consortium 1 1
Fanmi Lavalas 1 0
Pou nou tout (PONT) 1 0
Patriotic Unity Party (Inite Patriyotik) 1 0
Pitit Dessalines 1 0
People's Struggle Party (OPL) 1 0
Dessalines League (LIDE) 1 0
Konbit Nasyonal (KONA) 1 0
Independents 1 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Elections for one third of the Senate (10 seats) were held in 2016. At the same time, delayed run-offs for the 2015 elections took place, at which six seats were contested.

Six senators, including one woman who won in the 2015 run-offs, were sworn in on 10 January 2017.

As at 31 March 2017, there were 28 senators, including one woman; the two senatorial seats below are still unfilled:

- one seat for the senator who was elected in 2015 but is yet to be sworn in; and

- another seat among the 10 subject to the one-third renewal in 2016-2017, pending the announcement of the final results.


Senate (11.01.2017, 31.03.2017)

IPU Group (23.03.2017)

Conseil Electoral Provisoire


Haiti Libre

Radio Métropole Haiti

Alter presse

New legislature

Total number of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
10 Jan 2017

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Youri Latortue (Male)
Political party
Latibonit Ann Aksyon (LAAA)
Date of election
14 Jan 2017

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06