House of the People

Political system
Parliamentary system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
19 Apr 2024 to 01 Jun 2024
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
No information available
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
30 Apr 2029
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


About the election

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which led the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), retained a majority, winning over 290 seats in the 545-member House of the People. However, the BJP itself lost its majority, winning 240 seats, down from 303 in 2019. The opposition INDIA alliance, headed by the Indian National Congress (INC, led by Mr. Mallikarjun Kharge), won over 230 seats. The INC itself nearly doubled its share of seats to 99 seats, up from 52 in 2019. In all, 74 women were elected, down from 78 in 2019 (see note). On 9 June, Mr. Modi was sworn in as the Prime Minister by President Droupadi Murmu. Mr. Modi, 73, is only the second prime minister of India to win three consecutive terms (after the country’s first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru).

During election campaigning, the major parties focused on the economy, job creation, and measures to counter corruption. Prime Minister Modi pledged to eradicate corruption and poverty, and empower the poor and the middle class.

In September 2023, both houses of Parliament passed the Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty Eighth Amendment) Bill, 2023 (known as the Women’s Reservation Bill, 2023), which reserves for women one third of seats both in the House of the People and in state legislative assemblies. The President assented to the Bill on 28 September 2023. In accordance with the Act, the reserved seats “shall come into effect after an exercise of delimitation is undertaken for this purpose after the relevant figures for the first census taken after commencement of the Constitution”. The government announced that the census and delimitation would be conducted after the 2024 elections. Therefore, the 2024 elections were held without reserved seats for women.

Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 240
Indian National Congress (INC) 99
Samajwadi Party (SP) 37
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) 29
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) 22
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 16
Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) 12
Shiv Sena (SS) 9
Nationalist Congress Party Party – Sharadchandra Pawar (NCPSP) 8
Shiv Sena 7
Lok Jan Shakti Party (Ram Vilas) – LJPRV 5
Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) 4
Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 4
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M)) 4
Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) 3
Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) 3
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) 3
Janasena Party – JnP 2
Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) - CPI(ML)(L) 2
Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)) 2
Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) 2
Communist Party of India (CPI) 2
Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) 2
Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (J&KNC) 2
United People’s Party, Liberal (UPPL) 1
Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) 1
Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 1
Kerala Congress (M) (KC(M)) 1
Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) 1
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 1
Voice of the People Party (VOTPP) 1
Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) 1
Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) 1
Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) 1
Bharat Adivasi Party (BHRTADVSIP) 1
Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) 1
Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) 1
Aazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram) (ASPKR) 1
Apna Dal (Soneylal) 1
AJSU Party (AJSU) 1
All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) 1
Independents 7
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the election dates:
With nearly 1 billion eligible voters, the 2024 elections were held in seven phases on 19 April, 26 April, 7 May, 13 May, 20 May, 25 May, and 1 June 2024.


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
24 Jun 2024

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Om Birla (Male)
Date of birth: 23 Nov 1962
Political party
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Date of election
26 Jun 2024

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06