Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Islamic Parliament of Iran

Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
01 Mar 2024 to 10 May 2024
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
26 May 2024
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
29 Feb 2028
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


About the election

The principlists (see note) garnered the largest number of votes across the country, including in the capital Tehran. They won most of the 290 seats in the new legislature. The newly elected Parliament held its first session on 27 May and re-elected Mr. Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf as its Speaker. Acting President Mohammad Mokhber addressed Parliament instead of the late President Ebrahim Raisi, who had died in a helicopter crash on 19 May.

The 2024 elections were held amid an economic downturn. Prior to the 2024 elections, the Guardian Council, which vets candidates, disqualified prominent centrists and reformists from running in the parliamentary elections, which were held in parallel with those to the Assembly of Experts. (The Assembly elects the supreme leader of the country. The Ayatollah, Mr. Ali Khamenei has held that post since 1989).

Former (reformist) President Hassan Rouhani, who was himself disqualified from running for the Assembly of Experts, criticized the Guardian Council for disqualifying "thousands" of candidates from the parliamentary elections. He called on citizens to vote in the elections and cast a protest vote. Several prominent figures called for an election boycott. The 2024 elections saw a low turnout. Only 41% of the 61 million eligible voters turned out, the lowest since the 1979 revolution.

While political parties exist, they are not active. The "conservatives" (often referred to as principlists or fundamentalists) and "reformists" are generally considered to be the main political forces. The conservatives apply rigid revolutionary principles. The reformists favour expanded social freedoms and engagement with the West.

Alternation of power after elections
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature and that of the first session:
Each newly elected legislature opens on 27 May following a general election, and the first session is also held on 27 May. The four-year term of each parliament ends on 26 May.


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
28 May 2024

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf (Male)
Date of birth: 23 Aug 1961
Date of election
28 May 2024

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06