National Assembly

Political system
Presidential system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
08 Aug 2017
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
07 Aug 2017
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Total number of candidates

Notes: 1,893 candidates for 290 members elected from constituencies; 299 women for 47 women representatives elected from counties

The number of women candidates is not available from authoritative sources.

Voter turnout

Registered voters


About the election

President Uhuru Kenyatta's Jubilee Party and its allies (see note 1) secured the majority in both the 350-member National Assembly and the 68-member Senate. The National Super Alliance (Nasa, see note 2), led by former Prime Minister Raila Odinga, came second. During the election campaign, the Jubilee Party ran on the government record, citing major infrastructure projects and economic growth. Mr. Odinga criticized corruption in state institutions. Both leaders were candidates in the presidential elections, held in parallel with the parliamentary polls.

On 11 August, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) declared Mr. Kenyatta's re-election as President, which sparked two days of protests. Mr. Odinga rejected the election results, and on 1 September, the Supreme Court invalidated the presidential election following a petition by Mr. Odinga. Fresh elections, initially scheduled for 17 October, were postponed to 26 October. On 10 October, Mr. Odinga withdrew from the race, citing the lack of reform to the election process. On 26 October, President Kenyatta won the repeat presidential elections.

Note 1:

The Jubilee Party was formed by 11 parties in September 2016. They included the National Alliance and the United Republican Party (which had formed the Jubilee Coalition for the 2013 elections) as well as other parties which supported Mr. Kenyatta’s candidacy in 2017: the Kenya African National Union (KANU), the Economic Freedom Party (EFP), Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP), the Party of National Unity (PNU) and the Democratic Party (DP). Together they took over 190 seats in the National Assembly and at least 37 seats in the Senate.

Note 2:

The Nasa was formed in January 2017 by five opposition parties: Mr. Odinga's Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), the Amani National Congress (ANC), Chama cha Mashinani, Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya (WDM-K) and the Forum for the Restoration of Democracy-Kenya (FORD-KENYA). The Nasa took at least 127 seats in the National Assembly and 24 seats in the Senate.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Names of parties in government
The President nominates to the Cabinet qualified Kenyans who are not parliamentarians. Political party affiliation is not one of the qualifications for such a nomination.

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Constituency County Women Nominated
Jubilee Party (JP) 171 140 25 6
Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) 76 62 11 3
Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya (WDM-K) 23 19 3 1
Amani National Congress (ANC) 14 12 1 1
Independents 14 13 1 0
Forum for the Restoration of Democracy (FORD-KENYA) 12 10 1 1
Kenya African National Union (KANU) 10 8 2 0
Economic Freedom Party (EFP) 5 4 1 0
Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP) 4 3 1 0
Party for Development and Reform (PDR) 4 3 1 0
Chama cha Mashinani (CCM) 2 2 0 0
Kenya National Congress (KNC) 2 2 0 0
Kenya Peoples' Party (KPP) 2 2 0 0
People's Democratic Party (PDP) 2 2 0 0
Chama Cha Uzalendo (CCU) 1 1 0 0
MUUNGANO 1 1 0 0
New Democrats (ND) 1 1 0 0
Party of National Unity (PNU) 1 1 0 0
Democratic Party 1 1 0 0
Frontier Alliance Party (FAP) 1 1 0 0
National Agenda Party of Kenya (NAPK) 1 1 0 0
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

Notes: The Distribution of seats according to sex include the Speaker (ex officio member).

Percentage of women elected
Other notes on the elections

There is one vacancy seat.


National Assembly (28.08.2017, 26.09.2017, 03.07.2018)

The Kenya Gazette:

- Vol. CXIX-No. 118 NAIROBI, 18th August, 2017

- Vol. CXIX-No. 121 NAIROBI, 22nd August, 2017

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission

International Foundation for Electoral Systems

The Associated Press

Daily Nation

Africa Check

Al Jazeera

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
No information available
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
No information available
Date of the first session
31 Aug 2017

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Justin Muturi (Male)
Date of birth: 1956
Political party
Jubilee Party (JP)
Date of election
31 Aug 2017

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06