National Assembly

Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
15 May 2022
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
21 May 2022
Timing of election
Upon normal expiry
Expected date of next elections
31 May 2026
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal


Total number of candidates

Notes: Initially, 1,043 candidates (888 men and 155 women) registered for the 2022 elections. Of these, 41 withdrew before the deadline for withdrawal, while 284 others did so after the deadline.

Number of male candidates
Number of female candidates
Percentage of women candidates

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

The 2022 elections returned once again a fragmented parliament. Thirteen parliamentary groups were subsequently formed in the 128-member National Assembly, while 21 MPs registered as independents. The Strong Republic Bloc, led by the Lebanese Forces of Mr. Samir Geagea, became the largest force with 19 seats (up from 15). The Strong Lebanon Bloc (led by Hezbollah’s ally, the Free Patriotic Movement, which is de facto led by President Michel Aoun) reduced its share of seats from 29 to 18 (see note 1). Other major groups included the Development and Liberation Bloc (led by Speaker Nabih Berry’s Amal movement) and the Loyalty to the Resistance Bloc (comprising Hezbollah and its allies), which hold 15 seats each. On 31 May, the newly elected National Assembly re-elected Mr. Berry as its Speaker, a post he has held since 1992.

On 23 June, in consultations convened by President Aoun, 54 parliamentarians were in favour of caretaker Prime Minister Najib Mikati becoming the Prime Minister proper (see note 3). President Aoun subsequently tasked him with forming a new government. Forty-six lawmakers, including the Strong Republic Bloc, did not nominate anyone for the post, while 25 voted for Nawaf Salam, a former Lebanese ambassador to the United Nations and incumbent judge at the International Court of Justice.

The 2022 elections were the first to be held after the Beirut port blast in 2020, which triggered a financial meltdown and a fall in the currency of more than 90 per cent. The economic crisis was further exacerbated by the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the war in Ukraine, which triggered inflation around the world. Meanwhile, in January 2022, former Prime Minister Saad Hariri, an opponent of Hezbollah, announced he was suspending his role in political life and would boycott the 2022 elections (see note 4).

Note 1:

Mr. Gebran Gerge Bassil, the son-in-law of the President, succeeded to the party leadership in 2015.

Note 2:

Mr. Hariri resigned as Prime Minister in 2019 and was succeeded by Mr. Hassan Diab in August 2020. Mr. Diab submitted his resignation following the Beirut port blast but stayed on in an acting capacity until the government led by Mr. Mikati was formed in September 2021.

Note 3:

Mr. Mikati’s candidacy was supported by the following seven parliamentary groups (which jointly hold 46 seats) and eight other members, mostly independents.

• Development and Liberation (15)

• Loyalty to the Resistance (15)

• Northern Parliamentary Meeting (6)

• Independent National (4)

• Armenian Bloc(3)

• Projects Association (2)

• Islamic Group (1)

Note 4:

Mr. Hariri had led Lebanon First (the second largest parliamentary group in the outgoing legislature), which included his Future movement. Some of his supporters endorsed the boycott, while others quit the party and took part in the 2022 elections.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total
Strong Republic 19
Strong Lebanon 18
Development and Liberation 15
Loyalty to the Resistance 15
Independent Deputies 9
Democratic Gathering 8
Northern Parliamentary Meeting 6
Independent National Bloc 4
Kataeb Representatives 4
Armenian Bloc 3
North of Confrontation 2
Projects Association bloc 2
Homeland of Man project bloc 2
Islamic Group 1
Independents 20
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected
Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected
Other notes on the elections

Note on the number of parties winning seats:

16 parties/lists won seats, while 13 parliamentary blocs were formed.

Note on the parties or coalitions winning seats:

The distribution of seats above refers to the composition of parliament on 23 June 2022 when the Prime Minister was designated. The number of seats for the Strong Lebanon Bloc includes the Deputy Speaker, Elias Bou Saab, who registered separately.

The following parties won seats according to the official election results:

- Lebanese Forces (20 seats)

- Free Patriotic Movement (18 seats)

- Hezbollah and its allies (16 seats)

- Amal Movement (15 seats)

- Civil Society (15 seats)

- Progressive Socialist Party (9 seats)

- Former Future Members (6 seats)

- Lebanese Kataeb (5 seats)

- Armenian Revolutionary Federation (Tashnaq) (3 seats)

- Independence Movement (2 seats)

- Marada Movement (2 seats)

- Projects Association (Ahbash) (2 seats)

- Nasserist Popular Organization (1 seat)

- Union Party (1 seat)

- National Liberal Party (1 seat)

- Jamaat-e-Islami (1 seat)

- Independents (11 seats)


New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
31 May 2022

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Nabih Berry (Male)
Date of birth: 28 Jan 1938
Political party
Development and Liberation
Date of election
31 May 2022

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06