Sri Lanka


Political system
Structure of parliament
IPU membership

Election results

Data on parliamentary elections, including the background, candidates, voter turnout, results and the formation of the new legislature. By default the latest election results are displayed. Select a date to view results from previous elections.


Election date(s)
05 Aug 2020
Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature
02 Mar 2020
Timing of election
Early elections
Expected date of next elections
31 Aug 2026
Number of seats at stake
Scope of elections
Full renewal

Voter turnout

Registered voters
Voter turnout


About the election

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and its allies took a total of 150 seats (see note 1), thereby securing a two-thirds majority in the 225-member Parliament. Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB, see note 2), an opposition party led by Mr. Sajith Premadasa , came a distant second, winning 54 seats. On 9 August, the President’s elder brother and former President, Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa, was sworn in as Prime Minister for the fourth time.

The 2020 elections were the first to be held under President Gotabaya Rajapaksa (a former army colonel and secretary of defence), who defeated Mr. Sajith Premadasa (who was then representing the United National Party, UNP) in the November 2019 presidential elections. Later the same month, Mr. Gotabaya Rajapaksa succeeded President Maithripala Sirisena (who himself had defeated Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa in the 2015 presidential elections). UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe resigned as Prime Minister and was succeeded by Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa.

The parliamentary elections, which were constitutionally due by 2021, were initially called for 25 April 2020 but postponed twice – to 20 June, then to 5 August – due to the COVID-19 pandemic. During election campaigning, the SLPP focused on security, referring to the April 2019 Easter bombings that killed more than 250 people.

Note 1:

The SLPP allied with several political parties during the 2020 elections, The following parties won a total of five seats: Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP), which took two seats; and Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) and National Congress (NC), which each took one seat. The Cabinet formed after the 2020 elections comprises only the SLPP and the EPDP.

Note 2:

The SJB was officially formed in February 2020 after it split from the United National Party (UNP, led by former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe) following the 2019 presidential elections.

Number of parties winning seats
Percentage of seats won by largest party or coalition
Alternation of power after elections
Not applicable
Number of parties in government
Names of parties in government
Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP)

Parties or coalitions winning seats

Parties or coalitions winning seats
Political group Total Constituency seats National seats
Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) 145 128 17
Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) 54 47 7
Lanka Tamil State Party (Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi, ITAK) 10 9 1
Jathika Jana Balawegaya (JJB) 3 2 1
Eelam People's Democratic Party (EPDP) 2 2 0
Ahila Ilankai Thamil Congress (AITC) 2 1 1
Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP) 1 1 0
Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) 1 1 0
Muslim National Alliance (MNA) 1 1 0
Thamil Makkal Thesiya Kuttani (TMTK) 1 1 0
All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) 1 1 0
National Congress (NC) 1 1 0
Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) 1 1 0
United National Party (UNP) 1 0 1
Our Power of People Party (OPPP) 1 0 1
Members elected, by sex
Number of men elected
Number of women elected

Notes: There are two vacant seats.

Percentage of women elected
Women Directly Elected

New legislature

Total number of men after the election
Total number of women after the election
Percentage of women after the election
First-term parliamentarians
Percentage of first-term parliamentarians
Date of the first session
20 Aug 2020

First Speaker of the new legislature

Personal details for the first Speaker of the new legislature
Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena (Male)
Political party
Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP)
Date of election
20 Aug 2020

Historical data for IPU membership

Historical data for IPU membership
Year IPU membership
List of values for 2020-09
List of values for 2019-04
List of values for 2018-06